1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

updated vista, now ipv4 and ipv6 not connected

Discussion in 'Networking' started by aph50, Aug 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aph50

    aph50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Hi

    I have run updates on vista home premium, now my laptop will not connect to the internet, either wirelessly or though ethernet.
    When I look at wireless connection it says "connected with limited access" In connection status it shows
    IPv4 Connectivity: Not Connected
    IPv6 Connectivity: Not Connected
    Media State: Enabed

    I get the same messages through my Lan ethernet connection.

    I have another computer connected wirelesly to the same router and it works just fine.

    Please help
     
  2. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    Open a command prompt and run ipconfig /all. Post the results here.
     
  3. aph50

    aph50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    All that comes up is

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Aiden-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
     
  4. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    Is your adapter listed in Device Manager? Do you see any errors?
     
  5. aph50

    aph50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    both devices, wired and wireless are listed and no errors are shown
     
  6. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    That's a good sign! :) Are any disabled?

    If not, open a command prompt and run ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew

    By the way, which Windows operating system are you using? Edit: Oops! Disregard that! I see you answered it.
     
  7. aph50

    aph50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    niether are disabled, I get the following message from command prompt:

    The operation failed as no adapter is in the state permissible for this operation.
     
  8. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    There are a numerous settings that we chan check. But before before we tackle them, let's make sure you have the current network drivers installed.

    Visit your computer manufacturer or network adapter manufacturer's website and install the latest drivers for your computer model (or adapter model) and operating system.
     
  9. aph50

    aph50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I've updated the drivers but still no joy
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
     
  11. aph50

    aph50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Intel(R) Pro/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    and
    Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller

    are both listed in the Network Adaptors

    nothing has a red X and there are no items in devive manager with a yello ! or ?
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Window 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.




    Next, I'd like to see the state of the services.

    Check your Services are Started:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  13. aph50

    aph50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    i have tried the commands and rebooted with no luck

    all of the services are running with automatic startup
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/852225