updated vista, now ipv4 and ipv6 not connected

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

aph50

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
7
Hi

I have run updates on vista home premium, now my laptop will not connect to the internet, either wirelessly or though ethernet.
When I look at wireless connection it says "connected with limited access" In connection status it shows
IPv4 Connectivity: Not Connected
IPv6 Connectivity: Not Connected
Media State: Enabed

I get the same messages through my Lan ethernet connection.

I have another computer connected wirelesly to the same router and it works just fine.

Please help
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Messages
1,249
Open a command prompt and run ipconfig /all. Post the results here.
 

aph50

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
7
All that comes up is

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Aiden-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Messages
1,249
Is your adapter listed in Device Manager? Do you see any errors?
 

aph50

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
7
both devices, wired and wireless are listed and no errors are shown
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Messages
1,249
That's a good sign! :) Are any disabled?

If not, open a command prompt and run ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew

By the way, which Windows operating system are you using? Edit: Oops! Disregard that! I see you answered it.
 

aph50

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
7
niether are disabled, I get the following message from command prompt:

The operation failed as no adapter is in the state permissible for this operation.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Messages
1,249
There are a numerous settings that we chan check. But before before we tackle them, let's make sure you have the current network drivers installed.

Visit your computer manufacturer or network adapter manufacturer's website and install the latest drivers for your computer model (or adapter model) and operating system.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,726
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.

  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
 

aph50

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
7
Intel(R) Pro/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
and
Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller

are both listed in the Network Adaptors

nothing has a red X and there are no items in devive manager with a yello ! or ?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,726
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Window 7.

Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.




Next, I'd like to see the state of the services.

Check your Services are Started:
  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
  • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
 

aph50

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
7
i have tried the commands and rebooted with no luck

all of the services are running with automatic startup
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top