Updating BIOS

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DaveMN

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4
I want to update my BIOS with a .bin file. I have extracted and saved to a bootable disc. But when prompted in MS-DOS i have no idea what to type in to JUST open the .bin file that needs to run so i can update the BIOS. Thanks a lot... Dave
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome. Why are you wanting to play with the bios? Does this update address the VERY SPECIFIC problem you may be experiencing? IF NOT, I would suggest leaving well enough alone. You can create a nice boat anchor with a bad bios flash.
 

DaveMN

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4
No real specific problem, just when I ran Si Sandra soft to check my computers performance it said "System BIOS is old. Check for an update." So i went to the Foxconn website downloaded the updated BIOS and here i am. Thanks
 

DaveMN

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4
The Foxconn BIOS update was on sept. 17th 2005 so i figured it couldn't hurt, but maybe so...
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
PLEASE - ignore such suggestions by SiSoft Sandra and other systems.

There is a real % chance that updating a BIOS will render your motherboard toast as AcaCandy suggests, as BIOS flashes have a penchant for failing.

They are only used to fix known compatability issues with specific hardware/software that actually affect your system.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
What kiwiguy said above :D

LEAVE WELL ENOUGH ALONE, Please :)
 

DaveMN

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4
Fair enough, thanks for the help... PS New Zealand is an awesome place, spent 6 months there in 2004.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Its only 11°C outside today AcaCandy - but summer is coming (our spring here), we have an unseasonable storm and there will be snow on the ranges.

That means I can't have the top down on the convertable for a day or 2.... Damn.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
11 C :eek: Yikes, be sure to tell me when I can visit and like it. I don't even warm up until 26C :p :p

dobbelina, you'd be surprised of uses for dead motherboards :D :D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
AcaCandy said:
dobbelina, you'd be surprised of uses for dead motherboards :D :D
Yes, Candy's cat needs lots of targets for that full auto fire. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top