1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Updating my BIOS....how do I

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PaveFE, Aug 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PaveFE

PaveFE Thread Starter

Hey all,

I have the MSI K7N2 Delta mobo, which is supposed to have a 400FSB, but when I set it up in the BIOS, it will only go to 200. I saw an update on MSI for that board, which I think may fix that problem, so I downloaded it to my desktop. How do I go about applying the update? I didn't want to just double click the file and see what it does, instead, I decided I should ask the experts here at TSG first.

Thanks,

PaveFE

2. 4steve44

4steve44

Well I'm no expert but I am an ex pert. I did a flash update for my bois and what I did was shut down the system insert the floppy with the update and turned system back on. It will boot to the floppy and flash the bios. When it is done take out the floppy and restart you system and hope for the best :eek:

3. PaveFE

PaveFE Thread Starter

That doesn't sound very reasurring :eek:

4. 4steve44

4steve44

Messing around this flashing the bios IS a messing business. It can be done sucsessfully with care. Most people that have posted this subjsect do cross there virtual fingers. :) Does MSI have a step by step that you would feel better about?

5. PaveFE

PaveFE Thread Starter

Still looking

6. tdi_veedub

tdi_veedub

There should be no need to flash the BIOS unless you pick up some incompatible hardware, which is quite rare. Unless there is a bug that causes strange behaviour, then it is not needed. It's not worth the risk.

7. Arky

Arky

8. leoneire

leoneire