Updating site on search engines

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mbjo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
20
Hi guys - I'm baffled how these commercial sites like Target and Overstock.com etc. can operate on the internet with their websites. I created a site uploaded it and made some changes about 3 -4 weeks ago and still the changes aren't showing up. I must be doing something wrong. My "preview" on my site builder shows that all is perfect and the support group from same site builder says it can take weeks or even months for changes to show up. There has to be a better way - like I said the commercial sites make changes daily and they show up. Anybody got any clues or suggestions what I can do to make this happen? the site is www.robertwhitejohnson.com and on the changes there should only be 3 songs in the "featured song samples" box. Originally I had four songs in there. Also the music player I used is a flash player not quick time.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Messages
1,683
This is G o o g l e's cache of http://robertwhitejohnson.com/ as retrieved on Nov 1, 2007 20:36:41 GMT.

Looks to me like the cached version on google is exactly the same as your current websites.

You mentioned there should be only 3 songs, but on your website there are 4. Who is modifying your website? Seems to me the changes were never actually done.
 

mbjo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
20
Tell me - do you see 2 pictures on index page or 1? If the changes aren't showing up, I may have a hunch why. I'm doing all the work. I'm a rookie - but my head is expanding (I think)
 

tomdkat

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
7,148
mbjo said:
My "preview" on my site builder shows that all is perfect and the support group from same site builder says it can take weeks or even months for changes to show up. There has to be a better way - like I said the commercial sites make changes daily and they show up.
Well, those commercial sites have better hosting and teams of seasoned professionals working on their sites. :)

Attached is a screenshot of what I see.

Peace...
 

Attachments

mbjo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
20
Well thanks for checking it out for me. That's what I'm seeing too. There are a few things there that aren't supposed to be there so - back to the drawing board.
 

tomdkat

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
7,148
Or, you can post the steps you use to update your site and we can see if there is anything in your procedure that's causing problems.

Peace...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top