Solved Upgade to Office 2010

Harry32

My current MS Office version is Home & Business 2010, which I understand will not be supported much longer. So for peace of mind an update may be in order.

I have a single desktop PC on which I do all my work, so the multiple-device feature of Office 365 would be wasted on me. It appears that upgrades to Office 2016 and 2019 are available and can be purchased outright without a subscription. I assume either one would install easily and could take over what's being done currently with Office 2010 (mainly maintenance & revision of a large number of Word and Excel files) and give me continuing Microsoft support for some years into the future.

Question is, which of the 2 (Office 2016 or 2019) would be the better choice, and where can I buy it online with assurance that I'm getting a legal copy?

I had been using Windows 2010 Pro for eight years when I replaced it. I only paid $99 for it but it was a University (student) version that I bought when I was going to school. What also made it a good deal was that back then you could install it on two computers with one being a mobile device i.e. laptop. The versions since then can only be installed on one computer.

Since Office 2010 had reached end of support it decided to look for an upgrade. I needed copies for both my desktop and laptop so I needed two copies. Paying full price for Office 2019 Pro was out of the question.

I found some online retailers were selling Office 2016 and Office 2019 for greatly discounted prices. A closer look showed these were not regular retail versions. For example, I was seeing this for sale: Office Professional Plus 2019. A little searching showed that this version should only be available through volume license channels, i.e. for use by big companies.

There is a well-respected YouTube channel that has one of these online retailers as a sponsor. By their recommendation I bought two copies of Office 2019 Pro Plus. They activated fine.