Upgrade AMD Processor or buy Intel?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

compukid7

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
110
First of all I have a AMD FX-4170 at 4.20GHz, with an R9 270x, and my motherboard is a MSI 760GMA-P34.

I have recently learnt that my CPU is bottle-necking my Graphics a lot. During game play of Grand Theft Auto V, my processors usage is ranging between 86% and 98%, whereas my Graphics card is using about 30% to 40%.

I am in need of a new CPU but I am not in a financial position to be spending a lot, I would probably put the 4170 on eBay to get money for a new CPU. My budget would be around £100, and then however much the 4170 is worth.

Should I upgrade my current processor to one which would match my graphics card, if so, which CPU would be recommended to play games like GTA V on medium to high settings? Or should I rebuild with an Intel motherboard and a new CPU?

Any help is appreciated and thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,605
I am not a gamer but I would think so.......future proof?? Nothing is really future proof!
U might wanna check how much that processor costs then take it from there
 

compukid7

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
110
So with a budget of maybe £170 max, is switching to Intel not an option for me?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,605
U can't install a Intel CPU in a amd board
U would have to buy a new Intel CPU and a new Intel mobo
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,605
A decent i5 or i7 CPU would cost all of your budget I would imagine......not really up on prices in pounds tho
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
488
Yeah I know but I was asking if I could do it for £170
it will depend upon your operating system. if you are using manufacturers or system builders oem and the os is win7 or older, you will have to also replace the operating system if you replace the motherboard. this is per microsoft's oem license.
 

compukid7

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
110
I have a Windows 8.1 Pro key which I got through my college which I believe can be used more than once, if not I can request another key.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
The FX-8370 isn't going to be a big improvement over the FX-4170: http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/1146944-error-when-try-print-adobe.html

An FX-8350 or better is the recommended CPU, or an Intel i5-3470, the FX-4170 exceeds the minimum requirements.

Have you checked to make sure your CPU is not overheating? Tat you have the latest Radeon beta graphics drivers installed? You need the latest beta drivers that have GTA V optimizations: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+8.1+-+64

FYI, high CPU usage is not necessarily a bad thing by itself.
 

compukid7

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
110
Isn't the FX-8370 a better CPU than the FX-8350?

I don't think it is overheating as I have just recently purchased a new case, and I took off my cooler and cleaned it while moving the components across, and I re-applied thermal paste to the heat sink. In addition, the CPU temperature never gets very high at all.

I have the latest beta drivers for my card. Thanks for your response
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Yes, the FX-8370 is a bit better than the FX-8350, its turbo speed is 4.3 vs 4.2Ghz which is practically nothing.

What are the CPU temps?
 

compukid7

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
110
My CPU will usually sit arround 55C when playing games, and it will idle about 25C to 30C.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
910
Compukid7
U said U are planning on selling the FX 4170 cpu
I looked on E-Bay from the states
and it shows 2 FX 4170s for sell right now.
1 from England for £45.00 pounds. Brand new
cpu.
the Second was from Germany for €95 Euros
and it was a used cpu.
i'm not sure your going to be able to
get enough money selling your used
cpu to add with the £100 to afford
a brand new cpu.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top