1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrade = Confusion

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Disease, Jul 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Disease

    Disease Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Hi, I'm looking to upgrade my computer, I have a Philips MT2000. I'm planning on getting a !GB stick of RAM from crucial and a crucial Radeon X800 GTO 256MB AGP... Which is all ok so far... I'm pretty confident on installing it all because there are walkthroughs on the crucial site. I was just wondering if I'm going to need to upgrade my PSU aswell? And if you can ever do that? Because it says that a minimum of 300W power supply is needed for the graphics card, and I have a 300W power supply... So is it all good? Or do I need MORE power seeing as all the other stuff using the power aswell? :confused:

    Sorry if this is a stupid post, and I no its a bit long.

    And thanks in advance.
     
  2. Jones

    Jones

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    Power supply for a gaming system should be at least 500watt, and a very good brand.

    I just upgraded my PSU to an Ultra x-Connect 500watt, and I can tell you that it's a pretty awesome unit. Other really popular brands are Antec and Enermax. For future upgrades, and to keep your system stable, a good quality PSU is essential.
     
  3. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    there are two items you should check for upgrading your power supply.
    1. 20 pin or 24 pin mainboard connector
    2. Make sure your PHILIPS does NOT take a propeitary power supply
    you may want to get that locally, taking the old one with you.

    3. uninstall your old video card, just do not remove it from the pc
     
  4. Disease

    Disease Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    So number 1, how do I check that?
    And number 2, I don't no what you mean... Sorry...


    Thanks for the replys.

    *EDIT*

    I found this PSU http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/90613 and this is my motherboard info http://www.pcservicecall.co.uk/layout.aspx?ID={6e8440d0-eb3c-4da3-9675-78283b25dc03}&CatID={c5897bc4-be22-4cbd-bd2d-e5a5cdfecd03}
    So I was just wondering if you guys could have a look and see if its ok or not... I no it's a bit cheeky, but I'm desperate to upgrade my pc so I can play GR:AW :D

    Thanks in advance.
     
  5. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    #1 Ummm count the pins:)
    #2 Some power supplies are made specifically for a certain model line. Usually for sub compact PCs. If you can look on the sticker on your power supply see if there is a manufacturer and model #. More than likely yours , you can use a generic power supply.post the model / part# of the ps here
     
  6. Disease

    Disease Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    OK, I will do as soon as I go home, because I'm staying at my GF's at the moment and I haven't got the internet again yet, because we're changing ISPs... So as soon as I get home I'll have a look.
    Thank you.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485505

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice