1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Upgrade desktop with Windows 7 to Windows 10 ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by larryh10000, May 16, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. larryh10000

larryh10000 Thread Starter

I work as a janitor at a church and they have asked me if I could upgrade one of their desktop computers from Windows 7 to Windows 10. I told them I would get back to them about that. I don't have the computer yet so I can't offer any specs on it, but I do have a little bit of info on it - see paragraph below.
    My question is this: the computer came with Windows 7 and is still currently running Windows 7. I would like to do a clean install of Windows 10 on the machine and I do have a Windows 10 ISO fill on a USB flash drive (1803) version that I could use to do the upgrade. The computer does have a Windows 7 product key on the case, so if I was to do this I could enter that product key at the time of installation but was wondering if that product key would be accepted for activation of the Windows 10 upgrade? I want to be sure I am not committing any piracy stuff here and want to be perfectly legal. I am not interested in doing this unless it is perfectly legal. Your help would be appreciated. If this is legal I'd like to help them out and save a little money. Otherwise they will need to purchase a Windows 10 license and I can still do the upgrade for them with the new license.

Last edited: May 16, 2018
  2. Sponsor

3. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    Does your USB thumb drive install media contain Windows 10 Home or Pro?
    Is that desktop(unknown description) running Windows 7 Home Premium or Professional or some other version?

Windows 7 is supported until January 2020, so there's no rush in switching that desktop to Windows 10.