Upgrade from 95 to 98se

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

owenb1

Trying to upgrade from Win 95 to Win 98 second edition but getting an error message saying that there is a version of windows allready installed and that I need the windows upgrade - how can i get around this? Would it be easier to wipe the hard drive and then install 98 se, if so, whats the best way to go about this?

owenb1

Thanx for the reply - how do i create a win 95 start-up disk??

Sorry if im being dumb but i'm new to this!

Is this the easiest way to upgrade to 98 se?

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Hello!

If you do not have access to a Win98 computer to create a boot disc you can get one HERE Download it, unzip it and copy it to a a clean floppy.

owenb1

Thanx again for the replies guys!

What about bringing up DOS on startup and typing format c and then installing 98 se

Is this a good idea and can anyone help??

owenb1

What about bringing up DOS on startup and typing format c and then installing 98 se

Is this a good idea and can anyone help??

IMM

There's nothing wrong with that - you will of course lose everything on your drive and start over. Your call. Remember you will have to come up with all the hardware drivers for win98 - those for the motherboard are first (and perhasp most important - unless your motherboard is considerably older than win98 is)

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
My concern would be the amount of ram in the machine.

owenb1

I have 80mb of RAM, the pc was bought new in about 96/7

How do I check HD size?

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Either the bios setup, or go into my computer, and right click on the drive, then properties.

owenb1

80 mb ram
1,19gb

Will this be ok for win 98 se - i will be getting a bigger hd soon.