1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrade help required please.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by StitchTheChi, Apr 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. StitchTheChi

StitchTheChi Thread Starter

Hi guys,

I’m relatively new to computers and even more so to gaming, now I’m told my set up is not bad (I know little about hardware) however, I would like to upgrade as there are several games I would like to play and can’t.
    I would appreciate any advice you could give me on what to purchase and prices to expect so not to get ripped of or make a bad choice.
    These are my specs, if you need more info let me know, though you might have to tell me how to find it. :eek:

XP Pro 2002 SP 3
    Intel Pentium Duel CPU
    E2200 @ 2.20 GHz
    2.22GHz, 2.00 of RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series

Thanks in advance.

2. RogueSpear00

RogueSpear00

What games are you looking to play? Some more specifics would be nice such as motherboard models, etc. These are pretty basic specs.

3. StitchTheChi

WOW you guys are fast! lol
    Sorry about the basic specs but as I mentioned, I’m pretty new to all this. I have an Asus P5KPL-C/1600 motherboard.
    As for the games, some that come to mind right now are Assassins Creed II, Assault on dark Athena.

4. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    Looks like you need at least a better video card, and a better CPU would help as well for both games.

Open up your case and check the label on your power supply, whats the brand and wattage of the unit?

Also whats your budget?

5. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    For video cards:

You need at least this 9800GT: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130535