1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrade parts or new computer?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JJTD, Jul 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JJTD

    JJTD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    So Ive recently came to realise that my old computer can't run new, high-end games like PUBG, well. I have 2 60hz monitors and play the games at 20-30 fps.
    I decided to upgrade and by a 140hz monitor but now I realise that I need to buy a graphics card too. If I am getting a new graphics card my processor is unable to handle it meaning I need a new one and it goes on and on. My friends say get a whole new computer but I think It would cost to much.

    I have an AMD Athlon x4 860k Quad Core processor and I was wanting a 1060 or 1070 TI Gra[hics Card. I have a ASROCK motherboard ( FM2A58M-VG3+ R2.0 ). If you guys need anything else let me know and I will try get it for you. I just need advice please. Please recommend good parts (processor, graphics card, power supply ETC) that are in a good budget. Id say I have maybe a £1000 budget at best since Im getting this new 140hz monitor too.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,170
    Which, if any graphics card do you have now
    as that CPU
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Bulldozer/AMD-Athlon II X4 860K.html
    does not have integrated graphics

    The motherboard is quite good for gaming and the CPU plays lesser of a major part in gaming than the graphics card
    I would try a card first and you may well not need to upgrade further

    https://pcpartpicker.com/forums/topic/98142-would-an-athlon-x4-860k-bottleneck-a-r7-370

    Of course the PSU maybe in question as what you have may not be OK for a card

    The possible cards are listed on the link and you need to tell us what PSU you have
    http://www.userbenchmark.com/System/Asrock-FM2A58M-VG3--R20/12205

    Whether you do upgrade or go for a new system depends of course on how content you will be with the performance of your existing system for the price of a GPU if you do not also need the PSU

    When you ask
    It does not work like that - you select the parts and then submit them with links asking for comments
    Part picker
    or other similar sites is how to start
    https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/

    Keen as we are to help, you cannot really expect someone to construct a list for you, there are far too many options
    Intel or AMD

    Case type - flashing leds gaming - Full tower midi etc
    to name just two variables
     
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  3. JJTD

    JJTD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    I decided to go for a new rig. I would answer your questions but its not worth going through it all.
     
    AmateurJohn likes this.
  4. JJTD

    JJTD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the concern though. FYI I wanted someone to recommend parts 0r companies that make good products not make me a whole pc
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,170
    I am sorry you do not think I have helped
    I just cannot understand what you are asking
    You say
    and I asked what graphics card you have now and provided a link to what card you may wish to use with that processor and board
    I also advised that you may need to check the PSU you have - to see if it will meet the demand of whatever card you choose.

    Even if you were not intending to go for a new computer and just wanted to change processor and card
    whether or not you need a PSU change depends on what you have now

    The motherboard is FM2+ socket
    The processor you have is 4 cores and 4 threads its base frequency is 3700
    It may be overclocked and simple turbo boost frequency is 4000 MHz
    However if you consider sticking with what you have now - improving in graphics etc., and overclocking, then you need to consider cooling and indeed PSU

    You would not really benefit that much from another processor - all other FM2+ socket processors, that are slightly better would not offer any real performance benefit for the cost involved
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket_FM2_.html
    You are limited to AMD as the FM2+ socket is an AMD socket
    By that I mean you cannot use an Intel CPU

    The board itself is for DDR3 ram and whether or not you could usefully increase ram depends of course on what you have now.

    So in summary as I said - recommendations on changing what you have now - depends on what card you have and what PSU you have
    A CPU change is not really worthy of consideration.

    That said you are then back to looking at a new system
    Personally I would go to Intel rather than AMD
    However that is only my opinion

    Finally I repeat that I am sorry you do not find my reply and indeed the detail I provided helpful
    Perhaps you did not look at all the detail that is available on partpicker
    https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/
    the link I provided
    You can with just the one click from that link go here
    https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/guide/
    design your own system with the very minimum of knowledge and see an instant result for prices and guides.
     
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  6. JJTD

    JJTD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Ok let me clear this up.
    1. I didn't ever say you were not helpful so that thought was created by you.
    2. I don't have a graphics card that is why I didn't say any. I have integrated graphics.
    3. I already used partpicker to create the computer I am now getting. So yeah I did look at all the details available.
    4. What do you mean "very minimum knowledge" ?
    5. The reason I didn't go through all your questions was because there was certainly no need for it as I had decided to go for a new computer and we were talking about the one in use. And now I realise I have to answer them because you think otherwise of my reply.
     
  7. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    944
    With the decision to go with a new computer.....are you going to build or buy an OEM or some type of DYI already assembled?
     
  8. JJTD

    JJTD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    I have a mate who makes computer, practically family so I'll get them to build it and maybe spectate so I can see first hand what to do.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1213500

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice