1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrade Question XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by marcusdavid, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. marcusdavid

marcusdavid Thread Starter

Hi gang,

My scenario is that I am a musician who is currently running WIN 2000 Pro, and I have a studio with several software programs (music creation and production - Cubase, Reason, FL Studio etc) running along with tons of VST instruments and plug-ins that work with the software. I have a decent system, not great.. not terrible.

It looks something like this.

P4 3.2GHz Processor
    Intel 925 chipset
    800MHz FSB
    2GB Dual Channel DDR RAM
    80GB System SATA
    200GB Media SATA

I have just upgraded my main interface (the mother ship of my studio, if you will) and recently discovered that I need XP. I cannot run a dual boot because I need the programs and plug-ins to all access each other.

My question is, can I upgrade to XP without causing various other programs I have installed to stop working? How can I know without learning the hard way?

Any experience, advise or just general thought on any area of this quandary would be GREATLY appreciated!

marcus

2. brendandonhu

brendandonhu

You can get an upgrade CD to go from 2000 Pro to XP Pro but there's a pretty good chance that programs will need to be reinstalled. I would just plan on removing everything and installing XP from scratch.

3. marcusdavid

Yikes! that can't be right... there are waay too many programs that my Dad installed on the hard drive when he built the computer for me, that I don't have the discs for. And he is in Illinios.

Please tell me there is another answer.. someone.. ANYONE??

4. Old Rich

Old Rich