1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

upgrade to HT processor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ahhoe, Jul 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ahhoe

    ahhoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    344
    I have a motherboard that support hyper threading technology. Currently using intel P4 1.6ghz processor. And winxp pro. Can i just change the processor just like tat? Will my hardware be able to boot?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    Hi,

    As long as the motherboard supports the CPU you are putting in, should be no problem. Change the CPU and go with it.
     
  4. sin0822

    sin0822

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    You would also need new ram or your system might not boot if you bus speed is high for your ram speed. If im not mistaken the bus speed on HT Processors is 800 quad pumped, that means its really 200. Now your ram what ever it may be need to have a speed of 200. For instance PC3200 is DDR400, that means is actually 200
    (400/2 (DDR)). So 200=200. You need a minimum of pc 3200 ddr400 ram.
     
  5. ahhoe

    ahhoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    344
    huh? I think i am using PC2700. 1 piece 512MB, 1 piece, 256 and 1 piece 128MB. Can they be used? Or do i have to get a new set of rams?
     
  6. sin0822

    sin0822

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    i Thinky ou need new ram, but if the bus is 533 then it might work. But check the specs on the processor you need to get. If the bus is 533 it could work, but if its 800 it might not boot. IT a problem that comes from over clocking your CPU you set the bus speed to 250 (1 gighertz), and your ram is at 200. Then your comp dosnt start up.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    51,708
    A lot of motherbaords support asynchronous operation where you can run slower or faster RAM versus the CPU FSB - of course you don't get the full benefit of the new CPU's FSB.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/250119