1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrade Video Card for my PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by asye288, Dec 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. asye288

    asye288 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I've ATI Radeon HD 4650 which I believe is outdated, I want to buy a XFX HD 6790 1gb because I'm an ATI/AMD fan. I want to know whether this upgrade would be good to BF3 on max. I'd like to know if it's compatible with my computer.

    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 661 @ 3.33GHz, 3334 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical

    Any comment would be really appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    Please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe
    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    The one thing the TSG System Info tool won't tell us is the make/model and wattage of your power supply, for that you need to open up the computer and read the label off the side of the power supply itself. Higher end video cards need more power.

    The Radeon HD 6790 probably won't run BF3 with every setting at Max, but that will also depend on what resolution you run it at.

    The recommended cards for BF3 by EA are the Geforce GTX 560 or Radeon HD 6950.
     
  4. asye288

    asye288 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    My system is custom build. CPU is Intel core 5 661 3.3Ghz, Gigabyte H55M-S2V mobo, 500gb hdd, 4gb ram + DVD. My psu is 400W but I'm not sure it is True 80+ or not.


     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    400 watt PSU is generally not enough for any decent graphics card. You'll need a new power supply and it should be from a quality manufacturer like Corsair, Antec, etc.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031569

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice