1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgraded CPU, Now Win7 Won't Start

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Kapustin Yar, Apr 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    858
    Hi Gang,

    I have a dual boot desktop. win7 on C and Wnxpsp3 on D

    I have an AMD 2600 XP+ and I upgraded to an AMD 3000 XP+. The only way I could get the extra speed out of the 3000 was to increase the multiplier. The only way I could do this was to increase the mhz from 133 to 165mhz in the bios. Otherwise I get a reading that says the cpu is only 1.75 ghz.

    The problem is when I do this I can't boot into Windows 7, It just says "starting windows 7" and it just stalls. When I try to boot into the XP drive I get an error message like its trying to boot into the wrong disk.

    How can I fix this?
     
  2. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    See if there is a bios update for the motherboard that supports that processor.

    .
     
  3. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    858
    Sorry, bios is already updated.
     
  4. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Is the setting overclocked?
     
  5. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    858

    I think so, although I've never overclocked before so I'm not sure.

    I know that if I set the speed t 166 it doesn't start. As a matter of fact if I set for anything for155mhz it won't start. If I set it for 154mhz it will start and remain in windows, for like 8 minutes, and then it reboots itself.
     
  6. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Probably not a windows or software problem,but a hardware one.
    Restore the BIOS to their orig ones.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917166

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice