1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading a Computer, Need Help.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Got Rice Boy, Feb 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Got Rice Boy

    Got Rice Boy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I have been wanting to upgrade my computer Processor for a while now, but I am not sure what processor will work with my motherboard. I have tried to find out what motherboard I have by running test and looking at the specifications of my computer (Its a Emachines T3104, dont laugh). I have finally found out what motherboard it is, because it seems like 3 different manufacturers have the same name for theirs, and some of the test I have ran gave me different names, and the Emachine people didn't even know which one it was. But I think i have found out that it is this one: http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/chipsets/k8-series/k8m800/

    Anyways I was wondering what is the best processor that my computer's motherboard can work with.

    Also, the processor that I have been looking at is this one:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103868

    Please tell me what the best processor I can get is, and if that processor that I mentioned will work with my computer.

    Oh and my computer's specs are http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/emachines-t3104/4507-3118_7-31556256.html?tag=sub

    Except I have upgraded the memory to 512.
     
  2. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    The cpu in the link wont fit your motherboard, it is based on the older 939 pin cpu's.
    The cpu in the link is Am2 940 pin and requires DDR2 ram
     
  3. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  4. Got Rice Boy

    Got Rice Boy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Wow, this is my fault. I forgot to see what socket the processor in it was and I just found out it is a Socket 754....so this means i probably should just buy a new motherboard and processor.

    AMD Sempron 3100+ / 1.8 GHz is what is in it right now.
     
  5. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    Personally I would not bother, keep it as a working machine and start new there is not much you will be able to use from an EMachine.
    I had a customer last week asking me the exact same question.
    The new mobo won't fit the case, the psu watts are to low and you will need a genuine copy of windows.
     
  6. Got Rice Boy

    Got Rice Boy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    actually, the motherboard will fit in it, and the PSU watts is i believe 300, which is enough. And as for the Windows copy, i have that covered (school gives out free vista or xp to anyone).

    But my only concern is that i would have to buy new ram sticks (which dont cost that much), which basically means I am just going to be keeping the case w/power supply, harddrive, cd/dvd drive....and thats about it. So what I am thinking is either A. Build a Computer from scratch and sell this to someone...or....B. Just buy a whole new computer, like a gateway or something.

    I already have picked out some of the parts I would want for a new computer (if I build). Please tell me if these are okay.

    Case w/mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856167010

    Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103751

    As far as Hard drive goes, i already have 2 big hard drives (i forgot how big they are) that are brand new that I havent used, because my dad bought them and they were to big for our motherboard.
     
  7. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Just be aware the eMachines have notoriously underpowered PowerSupplies . . that should be the first upgrade if you want to do any more with it
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Upgrading Computer Need
  1. Sinestro69
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    83
  2. Dkapiate
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    83
  3. Limon
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    88
  4. Prepre
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    154
  5. niallc21
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    93
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/678796

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice