1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading a computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tankollie, Apr 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tankollie

tankollie Thread Starter

Hey guys,

I have a Dell Dimension E520. I am looking to do some personal upgrades. I just bought two additional GB's of RAM, and had fun installing it. I am thinking about other upgrades that are not extremely difficult, and would make a difference in the performance of my PC. I am thinking of buying a new SATA HDD 1.5 TB 7200 RPM. http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5764103&CatId=4357

Are there any other upgrades, anyone would recommend doing. Just note that I would be doing them my self, and I have never done upgrades before, but I am very eager to learn.

Any feedback/advice would be great.

Thanks in advance

2. Mumbodog

Mumbodog

That WD green drive will slow it down, they are good for storage drives but not system drives, you want a WD black series drive to speed things up.

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6076939&CatId=139

this one has 64mb cache, this really improves hard drive performance over 16 or 32mb cache drives

If you want a real beast of a drive, look at the Raptor series WD drives. May not be worth the price, Black series are the best bang for the buck.

Also check to see what the fastest speed memory that system will support, usually Dell will install the slower memory from the factory, but it can support faster memory. If you do get the faster memory, do not use any of the old Dell memory with the new memory.