1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading BIOS on ASUS A7V8X

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SolderOn, Sep 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SolderOn

    SolderOn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Hi,

    This is my daughters machine.

    Prob: no sound coming from onboard outlet. (speakers fine).

    Q1.
    Bios installed is v.1007 (most recent version available, according to ASUS website is ' Beta Version 1015.003' .. bit concerned with the words 'Beta version', so maybe i should upgrade with 2nd most recent version, namely 'Version 1014'?

    It appears that 'version 1013' "Fixed audio/modem codec ID problem" ! but unsure if this will resolve the sound issue i have. Anyway, it may be good to get the latest version anyway and possible just try and get the correct driver - nb no sound drivers are shown at all to be installed!?

    Q2. Back to the BIOS upgrading. ASUS website's inx do not seem to be compatible with XP, ie saying create a bootable system floppy (without config and autoexec) + AFLASH.exe software + boot.ini + the BIOS upgrade.
    My problem/confusion is not with the software or bios upgrade version on the floppy, but with the boot.ini and the type of 'boot files' i should have on the floppy, in order to get to the aflash menu option and not straight into win xp (as seems to happen).

    Be grateful for your help

    JB
     
  2. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    yeah dont use anything with "beta" on it, as far as flashing goes you have to follow the directions to the letter in the manual. Usually it is something along the lines of copying something off your mb cd and /or asus website, make a 1.44 floppy bootable, backing up your current bios and setting your bios to look at a drive as boot 1st, put the floppy in and reboot, aflash program will come up and follow direction to the letter, warning do not reset or turn off the pc while bios is being copied, wait til it tells you that flashing is complete. Google making a bootable floppy and fllow directions if you dont know how.
     
  3. SolderOn

    SolderOn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    cheers brite750,

    only just read your reply - but thanks anyway.

    BIOS updated successfully whey hey first BIOS update, so that's good. Simply created MSDOS Start up FLOPPY disk from my XP home PC. Removed the autoexec and config files. Added the new BIOS file + the flash utility. loaded up to a: when inserted the floppy and thus ran the flash utility from there. had bit of trouble saving the existing bios (ie just in case it went wrong), but then simply inserted another floppy saved it on that and quickly put the 'boot floppy' back in before proceeding.
    All done in 5 mins.

    But has it solved the sound issue, has it heck!

    Still, at least the mobo can now take an AMD 2700!
     
  4. SolderOn

    SolderOn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    ok, downloaded the ONLY audio driver update from the ASUS site for this mobo.

    And...read the 'setup info files' and copied the following files per unzipped download;

    1/SYSTEM file for 'Avance AC'97 Audio driver (WDM)' into windows\system32\drivers
    2/WAV AUDIO File into windows
    and
    3/SOUNDMAN for 'Avance Sound Manager' into windows\system32

    But, alas still no joy and not showing any sound devices as would be expected? in device manager? the problem obviously lies elswhere?
     
  5. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,313
    sometimes its just easier to get a cheap used soundblaster card........ a few quid and and 1 less headache
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,815
    First Name:
    Rob
  7. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    also could be your onboard sound is toasted, so you would have to go with a pci sound card
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,633
    Since you updated the bios, have you checked to see if the onboard sound is disabled?

    BTW I think that board has a built in bios flash utility. I use the same board for my network storage box and I think it has that option.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/749243

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice