1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading CPU?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mr.Magee, Jan 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Here are my specs:
    AMD Athlon XP 2100+ 1.74GHz, 1GB RAM. my Mobo is a ASUS A7N266-VM.

    I was wondering if there is a better processor that I could get, with this mobo and setup, that would show significant improvement?? My mobo, won't allow more than the 1GB of RAM, and if it wouldn't be a significant gain with the processor I would just wait until, I can afford to get a whole new comp. Any input would be great, thanks!
     
  2. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    also, is it true that a processor install is fairly easy and straight forward?
     
  3. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
  4. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    yeah youre limited to 266fsb so your choice of anything much better than the cpu you have is nil., whats your ram probably PC2100 which again screws you, if you at least had PC3200 you could go 754 or 939 MB with new CPU and get some jump for youre money.
     
  5. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    very easy, especially the 754/939 AMD Athlon64, heatsink is very easy to install
     
  6. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
  7. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    download CPU-ID or WCPUID and make sure it is telling you your cpu is running at 1733mhz 13x multiplier, thats as fast as she goes w/o oc'ing
     
  8. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Thanks, for all the advice. Thats kinda what I was thinking. With my mobo, I'm pretty limited. Oh well, guess I'll have to start saving! :D
     
  9. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    What would be the absolute fasted CPU that I could install into my mobo??
     
  10. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    i THINK AN xp2400+ 266FSB is all, for one you will not notice a 300mhz difference, and for another you will have a hard time finding a cpu that old
     
  11. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    I used to have both an AMD 3000 & 2500... the difference wasn't much... And with the older mobo (as others have stated) its hard to find such CPUs nowadays - or cheap.

    The $100 spent on a CPU would be better spent on a NEW PC for $500 or so.

    When you have that amount ($600 best) ask us for recommendations - that changes from month to month.
     
  12. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
  13. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    or this
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Awesome! Thanks for the info. I've been looking around new egg for like 2 days straight trying to pick out a mobo. I've narrowed it down to this cpu: http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16819103751
    but trying to find the right mobo is just very tough. I'm not too familiar with some of the older nvidia chipsets so it is really tough.
     
  15. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Would you mind helping me pick out a mobo that would be good for this CPU? I like ASUS since thats what I have now and it has been problem free for like 5 years now. But as long as its a decent brand I don't really care. Also would a 430watt coolermaster be enough juice for this upgrade? Thanks alot for all the help and info! (y)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Upgrading
  1. AmirIgronov
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    109
  2. MeHawk
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    119
  3. ruizzz98
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    163
  4. Suraj1
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    181
  5. Sinestro69
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    157
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539947

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice