1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

upgrading Dell Inspiron 8000

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kateri, Feb 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kateri

    Kateri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Thank goodness you people are around!!

    I'd like to upgrade my Dell Inspiron 8000.
    Currently has 256mb RAM - I know it can only go up to 512mb RAM.
    Which brand of Memory is best??

    Alos, I'd like to upgrade the hard drive also.
    Currently has 10GB.
    Does anyone know the maximum GB's for this computer hard drive?
    Which brand of hrad drive should I buy?

    If I get max RAm (512mb) and max hard drive (GB's) would it be
    possible to then install Windows XP on to this computer?

    Thanks in advance for your help.
    :)
     
  2. emoric

    emoric

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Hello and welcome!

    My choice in ram would most likely be Samsung or PQI. As far as a hard disk, I will always choose Seagate.

    Considering you have a laptop, your options may not be as big as a desktop's.

    But then again, that thing is running at 900MHz. I wouldn't spend too much money upgrading unless you know some people with the stuff laying around.

    Good day! :D
     
  3. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
  4. Kateri

    Kateri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    thanks much emoric and Rich-M for your replies.
    yeah. I don't want to spend a lot.
    I couldn't find any info regarding max GB's for hard drive............where did you
    find the info that states 34GB max for hard drive for this computer?

    THANKS!!!!
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443


    I saw that in an original review in Pc World but I am sure that was updated afterwards because there are 40 and 60 gb drives available as I included one for you.
     
  6. Kateri

    Kateri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks much for all the info.
    Just one last question though :rolleyes:

    Should I buy 2 new sticks of 256mb RAM or just 1 since there's already one in the computer......or do they need to be match.

    THANKS!! ;)
     
  7. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    They need to match but if you use www.crucial,kingston or corsair.com configurator to find the model number, they will match the one in there providing it was put their by Dell. Oh and Crucial guarantees a match if you buy it from them (and crucial is Micron ram, amongst the best available).
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/680962

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice