Upgrading gateway p7805u “ram and cpu”

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Enimen2

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
2
I just bought a new chipset for the laptop, a intel dual core x9100. Which will bump it up from 2.2Ghz to 3.06Ghz. So 3ghz- a max of 4.6ghz overclocked. It says the max ram supported is 8gb, mines currently at 4gb. I read that the ram support is determined by chipset and motherboard. I was hoping that since I’m upgrading to a better cpu that I might possibly be able to run 16gb of ram. I’ve heard of people successfully adding more ram then what was supposedly supported without issues and was hoping I might be able to do the same. I was trying to find out how much ram the new cpu could handle but had no luck.

I saw a dell laptop with the same chipset that supported 16gb so I guess it’s just about my motherboard now. I have 2 slots for PC3-10600 DDR3 SDRAM SODIMM 204pin memory.

Think it might work?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,383
The x9100 cpu should work ok although it will probably run hotter than the original cpu (P8400 ?).

I'm not sure about the maximum ram you can install. Sometimes it depends on the Bios. If you find someone who claims to have fitted 16GB then maybe it's possible. I think 8GB would be enough though.
 

Enimen2

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
2
Yea it came with the p8400, when you say it depends on the bios would it be something that could be changed or modified?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,889
I just bought a new chipset for the laptop, a intel dual core x9100
I am assuming you mean processor since changing a chipset would require a VERY high degree of skill. Someone with that skill level would not be asking questions.
New Yea it came with the p8400, when you say it depends on the bios would it be something that could be changed or modified?
To answer your question, yes a bios can be modded or edited however it [again] requires a very high degree of skill. One incorrect keystroke when editing the bios file and you have a paperweight instead of a laptop. To accomplish this task, you need a hex editor like this one;
https://ami.com/en/products/bios-uefi-tools-and-utilities/bios-uefi-utilities/
You edit the bios file with whatever parameters you want. Save changes then flash the edited bios file to your device.
Done.
 
Last edited:

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,383
Be very careful if you try to overclock the x9100, it will run hot even at it's normal speed of 3.06 GHz.

Personally I wouldn't even attempt to modify the Bios.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,889
Be very careful if you try to overclock the x9100, it will run hot even at it's normal speed of 3.06 GHz.

Personally I wouldn't even attempt to modify the Bios.
I agree. Editing a bios file is one of those things that IF you have to ask about it, you do not have the necessary skill.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top