1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading my processor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TKACER, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TKACER

    TKACER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I've had this Acer Aspire M5700 desktop for a few years now and it's finally starting to feel a little slow.
    Was thinking about putting in a new processor but I wasn't sure if anything was compatible or that it was even worth it.

    So far I've added an ATI Radeon HD 5670 graphics card. Using AVG PC tuneup and optimized everything as well as constantly defragmenting and cleaning the disks.
    If there's anything I can do to make the computer run smoother and quicker please let me know. Any and all help is really appreciated!!

    Thanks!



    Here's my current specs:
    http://support.acer.com/acerpanam/desktop/0000/Acer/AspireM5700/AspireM5700sp2.shtml


    Processor:
    Intel® Core™2 Quad processor with Intel® Viiv™ technology (up to 1333MHz FSB)


    Memory:
    Up to 8 GB of DDR2 800 MHz SDRAM (dual-channel support on four DIMMs)


    System Chipset:
    Intel® G45 Express chipset with Intel® Remote Wake Technology support


    I/O Controller Hub:
    ITE 8720


    Expansion Slots:
    Two 5.25"drive bays
    Six 3.5"drive bays (two external, four internal)
    One PCI Express® 2.0 x16 slot
    One PCI Express® 2.0 x1 slot
    Two PCI v2.3 (5 V) slots


    Video:
    Intel® G45 on-die graphics solution:
    • DVMT 5.0 technology support
    • Enhanced 3D and Intel® Clear Video Technology support
    PCI Express® 2.0 x16 graphics card support

    I added an ATI Radeon HD 5670 graphics card


    Storage:
    Serial ATA hard disks up to 1 TB

    Optical drive options:
    • BD & SuperMulti burner
    • BD reader & SuperMulti burner
    • SuperMulti with LabelFlash™
    • SuperMulti
    • DVD-ROM

    Multi-in-one card reader, supporting:
    • CompactFlash® (Type I and II)
    • CF+™ Microdrive
    • MultiMediaCard (MMC)
    • MMCmobile™
    • Reduced-Size MultiMediaCard (RS-MMC)
    • Secure Digital™ (SD) Card
    • miniSD™ Card
    • xD-Picture Card™
    • Memory Stick®
    • Memory Stick PRO™
    • Memory Stick Duo™
    • Memory Stick PRO Duo™
    • USB 2.0 and IEEE 1394 ports


    Chassis:
    183 (W) x 455 (D) x 370 (H) mm


    Power Supply:
    Industry Standard 250 Watt or greater

    Operating System:
    Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
    Linpus™ Linux® console/X-Windows version
    (varies by model)
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    Hi and welcome to TSG

    As you say yourself, the system is starting to get a bit dated now and Vista is far from the best Operating System out there in my opinion.

    Dependant on your available budget and what you want to use the machine for you might find it more cost effective to buy a new base unit. This will likely give you a far better performance increase and overall useability increase far in excess of anything you are likely to achieve with a CPU upgrade or similar.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,387
    A clean reinstall of Windows and getting a fresh start will breathe new life into that computer.

    You also should upgrade to a higher wattage power supply.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Go here, then click "Download Program", then run "HardwareProfiler.exe".

    After the scan is finished, click "Power Analysis".

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. TKACER

    TKACER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Base unit as in computer? What do you think about what Flavallee said?

    I have a new power supply sitting around that I could put in, but as far as re-installing windows I'm pretty clueless.
    The computer had it pre-installed and everything when I bought it
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,387
    If it came with Windows Vista pre-installed, it should have a built-in system recovery partition that allows you to revert it back to its original new condition. It's also a good candidate for Windows 7.

    Do the following in the order that they're listed.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Download and save and then install the free version of

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.70.0.1100

    SUPERAntiSpyware 5.6.0.1014

    Make sure to update their definition files during the install process.

    Make sure to uncheck and decline to install any extras, such as toolbars and homepages, they may offer.

    Make sure to uncheck and decline to use the "Pro" or "Trial" version, if it's offered.

    After they're installed and updated, restart the computer.

    Run a QUICK scan with each of them.

    When each scan is finished, select and remove EVERYTHING they found.

    Restart the computer, if prompted to, so the removal process can finish.

    Note: DON'T use the computer while each scan is in progress.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Click Start - Run, then type in

    %temp% (% is the percentage symbol on the number 5 key)

    and then click OK.

    Once that temp folders appears and you can view its contents, select and delete EVERYTHING that's inside it.

    If a few files resist being deleted, that's normal behavior. Leave them alone and delete EVERYTHING else.

    If a massive number of files are being deleted, the computer may appear to "hang". Be patient and wait for the deletion process to finish.

    After it's done, restart the computer.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083659