1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading my windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by SeinLb, May 14, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. SeinLb

    SeinLb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Sein
    Hello . I'm trying to upgrade my windows 7 home premium 64-bit to either windows 7 ultimate 64-bit or the same which is home premium , because I want to keep my files and settings . I'm using the same CD, it is informing me that I can't upgrade from 32 to 64 bit , while I have a 64 bit installed on my computer , or it tells me can't upgrade from home premium to ultimate in case I chose to upgrade from home to ultimate instead of home to home . Any ideas why my pc isn't recognising that I have a 64 bit running ? Although pressing property in my computer shows I got 64 bit
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,711
    First Name:
    Terry
    What CD are you talking about?

    If you have the Windows 7 Installation DVD (or USB flash drive) you can do a "repair installation" which will, in effect, reinstall the same version of Windows while (usually) maintaining the user files and settings. Make sure you have at least one good backup before attempting, as sometimes bad stuff happens.

    It may be too late to upgrade to Ultimate. If still possible (following copied from results of a web search) ...

    Click on Start, then type in anytime upgrade into the search box and click on Windows Anytime Upgrade to get started.
     
  4. SeinLb

    SeinLb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Sein
    I mean the windows 7 CD that comes with a list of operating systems consisting of 32 and 64 bit , from starter pack to ultimate . I have the home premium 64 bit installed . I just want to reinstall it again to maintain normal function , but it's telling me after upgrading that I can't upgrade from a 32 bit to a 64 bit while I have a 64 bit installed . So is the answer you wrote still applies on this situation ?
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,405
    First Name:
    Frank
    You cannot do an "upgrade" install of Windows 7 32-bit to Windows 7 64-bit.
    You need to do a "clean" install of Windows 7 64-bit.

    What's the brand name and model name and model number of your computer?

    Where did you get that "CD" disc from?

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
  6. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    13,532
    First Name:
    Liz
    The retail Windows 7 DVD, it is too large an operating system to fit on a CD, comes with both 64 bit and 32 bit. You can install one or the other - not both. And as Frank pointed out, there is no upgrade path from a 32 bit version to a 64 bit version of any operating system.
     
  7. SeinLb

    SeinLb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Sein
    Guys I said I'm upgrading within the same system . I got a 64 bit installed and I'm upgrading still to a 64 bit , but when I press and choose the 64 bit ultimate or home premium , a message says you can't upgrade from 32 to 64 or vice , but I'm actually upgrading to the same 64 bit . I bought the CD from a CD shop, and it worked before when I upgraded once, but now I don't know why the message says from 64 to 32 because it's not the case at all .
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,405
    First Name:
    Frank
    Because of the above comment you made, I misunderstood you and thought you were trying to upgrade from a 32-bit to a 64-bit version of Windows 7.
    A legitimate Windows 7 install disc does not contain several versions of Windows 7, so you probably bought one that was created by someone.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. SeinLb

    SeinLb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Sein
    Let's say it was , it worked 2 or 3 times by upgrading the same operating system from the same CD. The CD I have is a DVD 9 , it sure contains a lot and are all working 100% well . Just had a Trojan and things changed after installing the game "blur" and the pc became slower , lagging, freezing and even booting slow . Since I got a 64 bit installed and it says can't upgrade from a 32 to a 64 , I tried pressing on a 32 , then it says can't upgrade from a 64 to a 32 . Frustrating really ,as if you're eating a wood sandwich and chewing with your gum with no teeth
     
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,124
    First Name:
    Allan
    Do Start > Control Panel > System (if you don't see System change the View by to 'small icons' at top right)
    Tell us what it says next to 'System type :' please.
     
  11. SeinLb

    SeinLb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Sein
    These are my computer's properties.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,405
    First Name:
    Frank
    Capture.JPG

    Capture2.JPG

    That explains one reason why your 9 - 10 year old computer is having slowness and lagging during gaming.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    SeinLb likes this.
  13. SeinLb

    SeinLb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Sein
    I would agree my older brother but I'm only running compatible software programs and games . The lag is in the operating system , like right clicking the mouse to press refresh even takes 10 to 15 seconds . 3 days ago , it was super fast
     
  14. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,792
    First Name:
    David
    Where did you get the multi OS system DVD from and how?
     
  15. SeinLb

    SeinLb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Sein
    From the company . This computer was like a big deal 10 years ago lol and it still manages to play lot of programs and games that has high minimum system requirements. Now I'm facing a lag problem and it suddenly started happening . Lag not in the games or programs but in the system itself. It has an Nvidia 2GB VGA which is why can still play programs and games fast .
     
  16. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,792
    First Name:
    David
    What company?
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210190

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice