1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading notebook video card memory?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sneak, Jun 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sneak

    sneak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Hello,

    I currently have an Acer Travelmate 529ATX Notebook, which uses an ATI Rage Mobility video chip, with 8MB of RAM.

    Now, I know this isn't especially powerful when compared to newer chips - so here's my question:
    Is there any way of enhancing the memory or performance of this chip to allow me to play certain games? Nothing fast, mind you - as a case in point, I wanted to play the game "Syberia", which gives as a requirement - "3D video card, minimum 16MB of RAM".

    Am I stuck? The computer itself has 256MB of SDRAM.

    Thanks very much for your help...
     
  2. joeyd

    joeyd

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Hi

    I'm not sure about your particular model but on the notebooks i have worked with (movita and mitac chassis) the graphics are intergrated onto the mother board leaving no room for expanding the video ram etc. I think you will be stuck with what u have.

    It may be an idea to contact the chassis manufacturer, just look on the panel on the back and type the model number into a search engine.
     
  3. sneak

    sneak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks,

    It seems I can't do anything hardware-wise.

    I believe that it is possible to allocate system-RAM to video-RAM, somehow? Does anyone know if this can be done through BIOS, and if so, how?

    As I have 256meg of RAM, allocating some of this to the video would great - thanks again for your help!

    Sneak
     
  4. joeyd

    joeyd

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Hi Sneak

    It all depends on the chassis / mb. On some models you have the option in bios under "shared memory" where you can allocate the qty youself 16, 32, 64 etc, some automaticaly allocate enough ram as is required by the program, and others do not give you the option at all.

    Sorry i cant be more helpfull, but if you view the spec sheet of the chassis online it might help.

    Joeyd

    ps
     
  5. joeyd

    joeyd

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    The ps was meant to say that there may well be another way of doing it through windows etc but i am not sure.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Upgrading notebook video
  1. Sinestro69
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    80
  2. Dkapiate
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    80
  3. Limon
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    88
  4. Prepre
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    153
  5. niallc21
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    93
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/143261

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice