1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading Packard Bell imedia

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by priorleon, Jun 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. priorleon

    priorleon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi there,
    I currently have a Packard Bell imedia S3720 and I want to upgrade my computer power. I understand that as the imedia is a compact computer with a small motherboard I will need to purchase a larger casing. Basically what i want to do is 'slowly' upgrade my computer. If you could inform me of the easiest and most cost effective way of doing this that would be great. I need information about the types of processors, cases, motherboards etc that i will need to purchase. I am currently running windows 7 on my computer. Is there also a way to transfer my current operating system to my new 'updated' computer as I go? Thanks in advance,
    Leon

    ------------------------------------
    Computer details below:
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3200 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1791 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7100 / NVIDIA nForce 630i, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 68557 MB, Free - 11250 MB; D: Total - 68606 MB, Free - 34257 MB;
    Motherboard: Packard Bell, MCP73PV, ,
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,648
    Start over. Seriously.

    The largest portion of the computer must be upgraded together. The motherboard, cpu, RAM, as you already noted, the case, and a power supply.

    If your current video is an actual video card, that can transfer over. If it's onboard video (ie: part of the motherboard), then you will need a video card as well.

    Other stuff, can transfer over. CD/DVD, HDD, keyboard, mouse, monitor
     
  3. priorleon

    priorleon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks,
    is there anyway of retaining my current Windows 7 OS when i go up to the new 'upgaded' computer?
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,648
    No. The OS is tied to the hardware and in the case of an OEM PC, the OS is also an OEM version. Not too mention, you likely don't have an actual Windows DVD for reinstallation.
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    One of the cheapest and easiest routes to an upgrade which will allow you to use much of your current hardware is a barebone kit.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1002221