1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading PC for Windows 10

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Stephenx63, Jan 19, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stephenx63

    Stephenx63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    I've had my custom made PC made by PC Specialist for about 5 years now, and want to upgrade some parts, but not sure what would be best. I'm looking to spend about £300. I use my PC for gaming, I do play games but mostly old emulators and some newer titles on Steam which runs fine on it. Mostly use PC for Internet, videos etc. Here are current stats:

    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1
    Memory: 16384MB RAM
    Card name: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
    Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    Other OS Description Not Available
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Manufacturer Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
    System Model PC Specialist
    System Type x64-based PC
    Processor AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor, 3500 Mhz, 3 Core(s), 6 Logical Processor(s)
    BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. F2h, 26/05/2014
    SMBIOS Version 2.7
    Windows Directory C:\Windows
    System Directory C:\Windows\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume3
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.24511"
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
    Total Physical Memory 16.0 GB
    Available Physical Memory 12.2 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 31.9 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 27.8 GB
    Page File Space 16.0 GB
    Page File D:\pagefile.sys

    I have a SSD with 931GB of free memory on it. I would like to move windows over to it (which I thought I had done) as drive C:/ gets low on memory now a days.
    Now that Windows 7 support has ended I want to get Windows 10, I know I need to upgrade some bits as when the 1 year free edition came out I installed it and it crashed constantly. All help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,505
    Send please the information here
    It will although not as comprehensive as what you posted provide detail that your post does not

    For your information
    Drives do not have memory, I think you refer to free space in otherwords unused capacity of the drive

    It does not matter what the capacity in total - so lets say it is 1TB
    If the actual space allocated to the C partition is for instance only 50GB you could still end up with LOW free space on C
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2020
  3. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,631
    I just upgraded both my windows 7 computers with an SSD and windows 10. I cloned my windows 7 computers to new SSD drives and Upgraded the SSD drives to Windows 10 keeping all my files and programs, disconnected the mechanical windows 7 drives for emergency backups in case something went wrong. Later on I probably use them for more storage.
     
    barrtrek likes this.
  4. Stephenx63

    Stephenx63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Here is system information:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit, Build 7601, Installed 20150214151543.000000+000
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0, CPU Count: 6
    Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
    Hard Drives: C: 119 GB (7 GB Free); D: 459 GB (237 GB Free); G: 931 GB (392 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. 970A-DS3P, ver x.x, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
    System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
    Antivirus: ESET Security, Enabled and Updated

    Thanks
     
  5. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,631
    Oh, you need to do something about your space on your C drive, only 7GB free.Is your C &D drive part of the same physical drive? There is two ways to install win 10 clean install, wipes everything and puts on the operating system then you have to reinstall all your programs or you can choose to keep all your programs and files an update to Win10. If it was me I would clone your C/D drive to your SSD then run the win 10 upgrade on the SSD. Whenever you decide to update to 10 make sure there is only your boot drive connected.If you have other drives connected it can cause strange issues.
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,505
    I feel sure lynx1021 will guide you on this upgrade

    Re the system spec, I echo what lynx1021 has said re C drive - the situation appears to be as I mentioned it could be in my first reply.


    You will more than likely not need your product key for 7
    However make sure you have it - before you start the upgrade, in case you do need it
    It should either be on the computer case on a label OR if the computer did not come with 7 installed, it should be on the DVD case that was provided OR if it was not installed via a purchased DVD it will have been provided - some other way.

    The only other observation I would make is to uninstall ESET BEFORE attempting the upgrade
    Once you have upgraded you would be better advised to use the included Windows Defender
    It is, unlike many third party AV programs - 100% compatible with 10 - 100% of the time
    Even if you do not follow that advice - you should still uninstall it - until after the upgrade and when 10 is working

    I have never heard of that windows 10 - one year free upgrade you mention
    Perhaps I have just forgotten that such upgrade existed.

    However the present upgrade is NOT time limited.
    Whether it is still available now that 7 has gone end of life I do not know, but it was working on 12 January.
     
  7. Stephenx63

    Stephenx63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    I don't think either of you have read my original question properly. I need to upgrade my PC with new parts in order to make Windows 10 work properly, meaning I need new hardware. I can't do anything about cloning drives or moving things over until I purchase upgrades. It's what upgrades do I need that i'm looking for advise on.
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,164
    First Name:
    Allan
    Most of your existing hardware is around 10 years old and can't be upgraded.

    The Graphics card could be worth keeping though, do you know it's exact model name and it's age ?

    You will need a new motherboard, cpu and memory. Do you have any preferences for these ?
    If you get a Cpu with built-in graphics you would not need the card.
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,505
    You do not need an upgrade to that hardware to run windows 10
    It should run, without serious problems
    I agree it will not run as smoothly as it would on a more up to date hardware, but it will most certainly run.

    https://www.gigabyte.com/uk/Motherboard/GA-970A-DS3P-rev-2x/sp#sp
    • Operating System
      1. Support for Windows 10/8.1/7 32-bit/64-bit
      1. Untitled.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,164
    First Name:
    Allan
    I looked at Rev 1.0 of that motherboard, revision 2.x is a more modern version.
    Hopefully the OP will tell us which one they have.

    I also assumed the OP wanted to upgrade the PC no matter what but as mentioned that might not be necessary to run 10.
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,505
    managed
    I may be wrong - if so I apologise
    I thought that the intention to upgrade was only so that he could run 10
    As you say, it may be rev 1.0 - I missed that, you did well to spot it.
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,164
    First Name:
    Allan
    No apology necessary. I could be wrong too.

    We will have to wait for the OP to tell us if he wants to upgrade regardless and also which revision of that
    motherboard he has.
     
  13. Stephenx63

    Stephenx63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    If it can't be upgraded do you think buying a whole new PC might be best idea, it is over 5 years old. I don't have any real preference for motherboard and CPU, RAM say what I have now.
    Here is the graphics card details:
    Card name: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
    Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6810)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6810&SUBSYS_2336148C&REV_00
    Display Memory: 4095 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 2025 MB
    Shared Memory: 2070 MB
    Current Mode: 1360 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
     
  14. Stephenx63

    Stephenx63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Lets say for example I want to get a new build from scratch, nothing fancy just the basics for web surfing, watching videos and gaming (but not advanced titles), how would this build stack up:

    Game Max Centauri Mid Tower Gaming Case - Black £28
    AMD Ryzen 5 2400G 3.6GHz 4 Core £79
    BeQuiet! Pure Rock Slim CPU Cooler £21
    Gigabyte A320M-S2H AMD Socket AM4 Motherboard £45
    Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB (2x 8GB) 3200MHz £75
    CCL Choice 240GB 2.5" SATA III SSD £24
    Seagate BarraCuda 1TB SATA III 3.5" Hard Drive £37
    TP-Link TL-WN881ND 300Mbps £9
    Fractal Design Essence OEM 500W 80+ PSU £30

    Total parts £348 - Built with 3 years warranty

    Windows 10 - £10 from eBay.
     
  15. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,164
    First Name:
    Allan
    Those components look ok but if you use your existing graphics card you don't need a Cpu with Graphics like the 2400G (or should that be 2200g for that price ? ) - anyhow you could get a better Cpu like the Ryzen 2600 which includes a cooler (£107 @ Amazon UK)

    Here's a comparison of those 3 CPUs :- https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compar...-5-2600-vs-AMD-Ryzen-3-2200G/3183vs3243vs3186
    The 2600 benchmark is about 45% higher than the 2400g and 84% higher than the 2200g

    I'm not sure I would trust Windows 10 for £10 on Ebay, do you have a link to that ?

    Still unsure which exact graphics card or motherboard revision you have.
    Please download this, run it, then post what it shows on it's Graphics and Mainboard tabs :-
    https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1238948

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice