1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

upgrading processor, first timer!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by juztin, Sep 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. juztin

    juztin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    ok, i've upgraded a lot of stuff on my computer before...but never the processor!!! i thought this might be a chance for me to learn how, but i need a little help :confused:

    so my computer has a tekram P6B40-A4X motherboard, with a p2 400mhz processor....out of another computer that was given to me (with a fried motherboard), i pulled out a pIII processor.

    i'd really like to just pull out my old one, slip this one in, and flip the power...but i'm pretty sure there's other things to worry about first, right?

    i know there are some jumper changes i have to make, but can't quite figure out exactly what i'll be doing with them....i found a picture for how to set the jumpers on the webpage for the motherboard, but i didn't understand it...it's at http://www.tekram.com/ProductSpec.ASP?Product=P6B40-A4X, then on the left click "jumper set". this webpage also gives some of the specifications for the motherboard.

    so i don't know the jumper settings to make it as fast as my new processor!

    also, i don't know the SPEED of my new processor....i just unplugged it from it's place in the motherboard. it says it's intel pentium iii, so i figure it's gotta be faster than my p2 processor...

    ALSO, the processor plugged in right now has a built in fan on top of it....this new one doesn't, it had a separate fan...what should i do about this?

    if anyone can give me kind of a walkthrough on how to do this, i will be happy to provide as much more information as i can!!! thanks!!!
     
  2. juztin

    juztin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    forgot to mention....this particular motherboard has been discontinued, so the information about it is pretty much limited to what you see on that website i think.
     
  3. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    <so i don't know the jumper settings to make it as fast as my new processor!>
    from the manual it looks like you need to know your cpu

    <also, i don't know the SPEED of my new processor....i just unplugged it from it's place in the motherboard. it says it's intel pentium iii, so i figure it's gotta be faster than my p2 processor...>
    that could be a problem see above, see if there is any other markings on it

    <ALSO, the processor plugged in right now has a built in fan on top of it....this new one doesn't, it had a separate fan...what should i do about this?>
    You will need a fan
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    It usually says the speed of the CPU on the top. It say something like 667/256/133 - which would be 667Mhz, 256KB Cache, 133Mhz Front Side bus. The Bus speed is important because you motherboard must be able to run at that frequencey and so much your RAM.
     
  5. juztin

    juztin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    well, i actually got the motherboard in the NEW computer to work again...somehow, not really sure...i unplugged the processor, plugged it back in, and VOILA! it worked!

    sooooo, i put everything back together and i'm now running a fully successful p3 550 (instead of my old p2 400)...everything works fine, except my floppy drive, which i'm about to start a new thread on....thanks for the help though :)
     
  6. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    You are sooo lucky
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - upgrading processor timer
  1. MeHawk
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    206
  2. Suraj1
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    220
  3. Stephenx63
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    757
  4. tuadru
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    154
  5. rocparis
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    221
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/276725

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice