upgrading processor; is it possible?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fenderjaguar

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
362
i've currently got a Dell dimension 4100. with a P3 1000MHZ processor. i'm told the motherboard is one of these things:

Intel 139671 motherboard with 815 chipset

so, my question is; can i upgrade the processor to something a little faster, without changing the motherboard out of the PC?
 

fenderjaguar

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
362
oh yeah, and if i do have to change the motherboard, can i use all the old things? the motherboard uses SD ram.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Messages
690
The Dell site does not give a range, just says it comes with a 1 GHz. I doubt you could get much over that with this board, maybe 1.2, possibly 1.4, but you may be stuck with this because who knows how dell contracts their boards out.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
3,992
It looks like you are already at or near the top. Its not worth upgrading for just the small amount you might gain.

Specs for 4100 at Dell site.

Microprocessor type
Intel Pentium III processor
667, 733, 800, 866, or 933 MHz internally and 133 MHz externally, or 1GHz internally and 133 MHz externally, or 1.1 GHz internally and 100 MHz externally


Intel Celeron processor
1.0 and 1.1 GHz internally and 100 MHz externally
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
18
for the cost of upgrading, i would suggest a new computer. since u dont have a problem with the package deals from companies like dell (all the non standard parts inside the comp) i would suggest looking into an emachines
amd 3000+ processor, 64 meg on board vid card, dvd\cd burner, 512 ram (actually 448 cuz of vid card, but still good), 160 gig hd-only $600. ive run many games on highest quality with no problems. very worthwhile especially for the price i got it at.

so unless u r a really avid gamer who likes to install all your own things and build a comp from scratch, this comp should suit you very well
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,962
I would save some money and build leaving room for future upgrades. If I were to start over I would still be able to use the CDroms, PSU, Case, Video card, etc.
The first build will cost you, but after that you can keep up for less. Right now I would need a processor, and depending on where I wanted to go possibly ram and board.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top