Upgrading processor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Uriah

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
40
Hi all.

My Dad just bought a laptop and I got his old PC. It's a Dell Dimension XPS t600r
P3, 386MB RAM, 650mhz, 10gb HD, 64/32mb video, CD-RW, CD-ROM

Is it possible to upgrade the processor chip on this? How do I find out the chipset of this computer?

Thanks!
 

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
36,233
The highest processor you can possibly go to is Pentium III 1.2Ghz.

What OS are you planning to have or have right now?

If you are planning to get HL2, Doom3 and the like, you may have to do the whole machine.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
I'm sure by design, Dell's usually don't upgrade very far. Look for a service tag on the back of your machine and go to the Dell site for info about your system. The forum there can also be useful for this topic.
 

Uriah

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
40
It has WinXP on it it right now.

Really its pretty good everywhere except the processor. Its got more RAM then my brothers computer which I also use too.

I'm not planning any high end games like HL2 but I would like it to be compatible with some of the less straining games.
 

Uriah

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
40
Heheh.

Yeah right. Its running on my other computer with only 256mb. I think you got your numbers wrong.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
46
im running xp fine with 128mb of ram on one of my computers and also fine with 256 on another computer
 

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
36,233
Well time will tell guys :D Why do you think my old machine is R.I.P? :D

I'm not saying you can't run WinXP on 256Mb, just that you will see some noticable difference with it.
 

Uriah

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
40
Well of course it would run better, but it's still extremely usable on 256mb. I can't really see how much faster it could be. The only thing my computer(s) slow down for is big games and multiple programs all loading at once.
 

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
36,233
The only thing my computer(s) slow down for is big games and multiple programs all loading at once
Not enough memory :D
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
3,765
The official minimum for windows xp is 128MB... my recommendation for it is, like Tidus4Yuna said, 512MB

If you are running it on 64MB then you will be amazed how fast it will run when it has just 256 to work with.

But yes, you are better off starting over from scratch, although if you dont want to do that, a good pentium 3 isn't bad either.
 

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
36,233
I would opt for the AMD 2700+... probably the highest you can go and keep some change in your pocket.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top