1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading Ram/Hp xw4400

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Limon, Jan 7, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Limon

    Limon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Hi.

    XP upgraded to W7 Professional.

    Presently I have 2 x 1GB: Details from the chips> 1GB MT18 BHTF 12872AY 667D4 200718 BZADRM8004: 1GB2XR8 PC25300E 55512G0: DDR2 667CL5 ECC.

    2 x 2GB: Details from the chips> 2GB CT25672AA80E M18FH: 2GB240-PIN 256MX72 DDR2 PC2-6.

    A total of 6 GB RAM.

    This Desktop can take a maximum of 8GB, so I want to add another 2GB, but I know mixing RAM can cause instability. I am guessing the the markings on chipsets indicate alternative types.

    Some guidance will be much appreciated. Thank you.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,405
    First Name:
    Frank
    The HP xw4400 WorkStation desktop has 4 DIMM slots and supports the following RAM configurations:
    If DDR2 modules are the ECC type, it supports 8 GB of RAM.
    If DDR2 modules are the Non-ECC type, it supports only 2 GB of RAM.

    If all 4 DDR2 modules you have are the ECC type, then you should be able to increase it from 2 GB to 6 GB.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Limon

    Limon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Thank you. There are 6 GB ECC. Cant't mix, so I am removing those and getting 4 x 2 GB.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,405
    First Name:
    Frank
    You're welcome. :)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221538

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice