1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading RAM on laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Andersson1, Nov 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Andersson1

    Andersson1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Hi! I've got a laptop with 256 MB RAM and I'm interested in upgrading it with 512 MB RAM.

    I'm not sure which type of RAM is in my laptop ex. PC2700.
    My question is, If I have PC2700 256 MB RAM on my laptop and I add PC3200 512 MB RAM.
    Will the two blocks be able to co-operate?
    Or do I have to buy two PC3200 Blocks?
    I was looking at PC3200 512MB RAM / 64bit somewhere, what's the 64bit?
    I don't think I've got a 64 bit system, does it matter??
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. kylake

    kylake

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 1999
    Messages:
    228
    Why don't you try going to www.crucial.com and use their website to determine which ram is compatiable with you laptop. Just a thought.....

    That is what I did......bought a stick and popped it in place......no problems and they will guarantee it to work. I added 512 ram to the 256 on board. There were 2 slots one under the keyboard and on the bottom of the laptop.
     
  4. Newbie07

    Newbie07

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Check your motherboard documentation for specifics on compliable RAM. I'd imagine you could mix and match the RAM, but it would not be ideal for performance. It would be best to just get new RAM altogether, or use identicle RAM to the type you currently have installed.
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    A lot of laptops are very specific about mixing Ram speeds. Dell Inspiron I have is easy about it. I get PC2100 and that is it. So the answeer is probably it depends on the actual laptop itself.
     
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    The placement of the ram slots is different depending on the laptop. My think pad both ram slots were undr the battery, while on my Dell there is a cover onthe bottom that contains one ram slot while the second ram slot is under the keyboard. So this too is sytem dependant.
     
  7. hamster2000

    hamster2000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Dustyjay,

    I have a Dell Inspiron 2650 myself - nearly 3 years now. Just wondering about the memory configuration you have...

    Do you have 256Mb in the motherboard and the remainder (1 slot) under the case? In my case I have 384Mb. Just wonder how much extra you added underneath? I think 512Mb is the limit but I'd need to check the manual to be sure. Hmmm, you video is the Geforce2 Go as well? It has aged well. (as light handed usage goes :)

    Thanks!
     
  8. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
  9. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    yes 512Mb is the limit. Unfortunately. and I too have 384 installed right now. Waiting for a quiet night to install the other stick under the keyboard/heat shield. Next upgrade is a DVD burner. Waiting for it from Newegg. If it works they have one for only 79.99 plus shipping and tax. Have an external 60Gb hdd attached to a USB 2.0 PCMCIA card.

    Newegg also has 256Mb Stick of Kingston ram for less than 28 bucks delivered.
     
  10. hamster2000

    hamster2000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for that Dusty... hmmm

    You got PC2100 for that slot??
    I'm from Ireland so my port of call is www.shop4memory.co.uk (they deliver free anywhere in europe). Might be worth it if it is so cheap.
     
  11. hamster2000

    hamster2000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I got a choice of two:
    SO-DIMM PC100 / PC133 - SO-DIMM SDRAM modules are the most commonly type of memory for laptops. We supply these at 100Mhz (PC100) and 133Mhz (PC133).
    DDR SO-DIMM PC2100 - We also supply the new DDR SO-DIMM 200 pin modules. This type of laptop memory is used in most newer laptops and we supply these in various speeds: 266Mhz (PC2100), 333Mhz (PC2700) and 400Mhz (PC3200).


    Just looking it up there....
    DDR SO-DIMM PC2100 ---> is going for...

    I attached the memory prices here... seems like €48 here
     

    Attached Files:

  12. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    That is what it looks like.
     
  13. Andersson1

    Andersson1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Hmm, so if I've got 256 MB PC2700 RAM and I add 512 MB PC3200 RAM they will work together, but I'll get the best performance with 512 MB PC2700 RAM? to keep it to the same type...

    It's because I don't want to throw my 256MB slot in the garbage can.

    Does it say on the RAM block what type it is? Cause wondering if I should open my laptop and have a look...
     
  14. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    Have you already got the PC3200 stick? If not I would stay with thepc2700 and you can still use the 256M stick if your computer will allow it. What brand and model laptop do you have? There is an easy way to find out if what you are looking at will work.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/416071