1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ok43, Mar 7, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ok43

ok43 Thread Starter

I have a Dell Dimension 4100 with 128 mg of RAM. I'm going to upgrade to 256. I just want to know is there anything special I need to know before I buy the RAM. I'm going to install myself and I've never done this before. I know what I have now is SDRAM and I printed the specifications from the Dell site. Is it safe to buy a different brand? Any tips would be greatly appreciated!!!

:)

2. anlore2001

anlore2001

First Name:
    Andrew
    Usally ram is Vendor neutral and can be placed in any machine without a problem. I would recommend that you take a look at www.crucial.com, they have one of the best prices around for memory and will tell you exactly which will work best in your system. Good Luck and let us know what happens.

3. mikey751

mikey751

You want to make sure your properly grounded before handling and installing the ram since the static can fry it in a hurry. :)

As far as buying a differnet brand of ram. I've heard that differnet brands of ram don't always get along.

I had a friend of mine buy a different brand of ram for his computer would lock up on him all the time after that. He then installed the same brand of ram and it worked great.

That's my experience anyways. :)

4. Slithy Tove

Slithy Tove Guest