1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading RAMin my computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Travioli, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Travioli

    Travioli Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    I aminterested in getting Windows Cista in a couple of weeks and want to beef up my computer before I do. I purchased a DELL model E510 back in late October/early November. I have 512mB of RAM when I go to set-up when the computer starts up it shows I have (2) 256mB sticks for a totalof 512mB. i want to get atleast a gig in there so can I simply just purchase a 512 stick or does all the memory have to match i.e. (4) 256 sticks to equal 1 gig? This is what is cuurently on my computer and this is what I want to buy from NewEgg.

    DELL Ram I have

    Tech Specs


    Form Factor Memory Speed
    DIMM 240-pin ( PC2-4200 )
    Storage Capacity Technology
    256 MB DDR II SDRAM
    Type Upgrade Type
    DRAM System specific
    Product Description Compatible Slots
    Kingston memory - 256 MB - DIMM 240-pin - DDR II 1 x memory - DIMM 240-pin
    OEM Manufacturer Equivalent Part Number
    DELL A0375076, DELL A0375062


    NewEgg Ram I want to buy
    Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) System Memory Model KVR533D2N4/1G - Retail
    Item #: N82E16820144151

    Your help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  3. Travioli

    Travioli Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks I will give it a try when I get home. Any idea how to upgrade my video card as well. I have a 128mB ATI card now. I amjust trying to avoid buying from DLL since they are so much more money.

    Thanks,

    Travis
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    You mean your thinking of upgrading your Video card to 256mb or similar?
     
  5. Travioli

    Travioli Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    yes upgrading my video card to 256mB

    Trav
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Upgrading RAMin computer
  1. AmirIgronov
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    108
  2. MeHawk
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    119
  3. ruizzz98
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    163
  4. Suraj1
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    179
  5. Sinestro69
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    157
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice