1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

upgrading the processor in my compaq desktop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jeremy072021, Jul 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jeremy072021

    jeremy072021 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I was wanting to know if it's possible to upgrade the processor in my HP Compaq Presario SR5310F with a processor from another computer. The processor in my Compaq is an Intel® Pentium® Processor E2140. The processor I want to replace it with is an Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q6600. I checked which sockets each processor supported and they both support the LGA775 type socket. Both processors also run at a voltage of 0.8500V-1.5V. So would it be possible to just replace them? Here's the web pages for each processor's specs.

    Intel® Pentium® Processor E2140 -
    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=29738

    Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q6600 -
    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=29765

    Additional information: I have a windows 7 operating system, 1024 MB of RAM, 250 GB Hard Drive, and an Intel graphics media accelerator 950.

    If there's anything else you need to know, please ask. I would love to get this figured out as soon as possible. Thank you for your time.
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  3. jeremy072021

    jeremy072021 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for your reply, that definitely put things in perspective...
    hmm...so there's no way to work around that? It will only support those processors listed?
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    That's what the manufacturer supports. Will others work? Probably not. The only way to know for certain is to ask someone who's tried with exactly the same board. OEM motherboards are not the same as retail boards. OEM's customize them. If you want to guarantee compatibility, go with what the OEM lists.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1007365