1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Upgrading Video/Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Radeon5, Feb 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Radeon5

    Radeon5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    So like I had this computer for a couple of years now and I've been wondering what kinds of video cards can fit into my computer for example, what x# can my pc fit and if it's a PCI or not. I just want to play the newer games that recently came out but unfortunately, my computer can't handle it. I'm also wondering if I can run a cheap and decent video card like this one http://ncix.com/products/?sku=56469&vpn=01G-P3-1312-LR&manufacture=eVGA&promoid=1292. Here's my specs:

    Operating System: Windows Vista¬ô Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Acer
    System Model: Aspire M1201
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ (2 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
    Memory: 1790MB RAM
    Page File: 1713MB used, 4718MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 7.00.6002.18107 32bit Unicode

    Card name: ATI Radeon 2100
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon 2100 (0x796E)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_796E&SUBSYS_01551025&REV_00
    Display Memory: 894 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 255 MB
    Shared Memory: 638 MB
    Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
    Driver Name: atiumdag.dll,atiumdva.cap,atitmmxx.dll
    Driver Version: 7.14.0010.0612 (English)
    DDI Version: 9Ex
    BGRA Supported: Yes
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 8/30/2008 03:43:56, 3841024 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
     
  2. ajkane

    ajkane

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    829
    First we need to know your PSU specifications. Open your computer and post the Wattage and amperage on the label of the PSU.
     
  3. Robsy128

    Robsy128

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    Yes, we would need to know how many watts your PSU supplies. Also, we would need to know whether you have a PCIe slot on the motherboard or not. As most graphics cards are backwards compatible, you could have a newer graphics card as long as you have the room in the case for it and a proper PSU to power it.
     
  4. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    If you are going to upgrade your GPU then personally, I would recommend getting a new PSU, I wouldn't even bother trying to fit a new graphics card and power it with your existing PSU assuming its the one that came with the PC.

    Do you have a budget in mind? A good quality PSU are a bit more expensive but this really is an area you shouldn't cut costs on, especially for a GPU upgrade which is one of the biggest contributors to power consumption in a PC.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087762

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice