1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

upgrading win 2k pro to win xp pro

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by smit7277, Mar 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. smit7277

    smit7277 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I have a windows 2k3 server with 4 win 2k pro workstations...the I.T. goon prior to me getting involved bogied the 4 workstations and all are using the same license #...if I purchase 4 new oem XP Pro upgrades with 4 new license #'s will I be able to upgrade?
     
  2. Ciberblade

    Ciberblade Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,256
    I belive you will...

    This post is in the wrong thread...I have requested it to be moved ;)
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What are you upgrading from? If you have new licenses and XP Pro already on those machines, you can change the keys without reinstallations.
     
  4. smit7277

    smit7277 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    as I mentioned...i have 4 workstations and all have windows 2000 professional on them but they all have the same license number...I want to make them legit but i do not want to have to buy the $200+ full version of windows xp pro...I would like instead to buy 4 oem xp pro upgrades for around $80 bux apiece...does anyone know if this will work?
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Yes. That will work. The old license numbers have no affect on the upgrade.
     
  6. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    but you will not find a OEM XP Pro version . . OEM's are full versions.

    wrs
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/339913

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice