Urgent help before xmas! Desktop won't connct to WiFi

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kevinmcd01

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
2
Hey,

Hoping someone can help me. Bought a desktop for my daughter christmas with the promise it was a one click easy to latch onto wifi scenario.
Trouble is, it's not finding the wifi at all.

It an Acer M3910 running Windows 7.
C:\Users\desktop>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.<numbers in here>:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.<numbers in here>:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

I can't have a wired connection as the router is too far away.
Every other device hook up fine to WiFi. Just this one is completely refusing.

Help!

Thanks,
Kevin
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Where did you buy it, and who promised it could connect to a wireless network? Do you see an antenna on the back to indicate it has a wireless network adapter installed?
 

kevinmcd01

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
2
was a refurb from PC World.
Part of the spec is it has wireless capabilitiy.
I've seen similar issues on the web, so know it should connect wirelessly to the net.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
1,862
Type/make/model of the wireless adapter?

Information on the adapter can be found in Device Manager, Network Adapters. No yellow problem markers?
To get more specidic information like drivers, right click the name and select Properties from the menu.

You can make screenshots to post here instead of typing everything..
To make and save a picture of the present screen
Hold the Alt key down and hit the PrintScreen key.
Open Paint (under Accessories) and click Edit, Paste.
Click file, Save and save the picture to My Pictures as a .jpeg image.
If the computer doesn't have an internet connection, save to a USB drive.

To upload it to the forum, open the full reply (Advanced) window and use the paperclip (Manage Attachments button) at top of window. In the small window click the browse button and go to where you saved the screenshot and click on that file. Then click on the Upload button to attach the file.

Correct command would be ipconfig /all for full information on connections.
From a JohnWill post.
Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
was a refurb from PC World.
Part of the spec is it has wireless capabilitiy.
I've seen similar issues on the web, so know it should connect wirelessly to the net.
What "spec"? A sheet of paper? A shelf tag?
Google searching for similar issues certainly doesn't tell you what hardware is physically installed in the computer you have. It's a desktop, so there's no wireless adapter on the motherboard. An internal PCI card would have to be included.

Look in Device Manager under Network to see what adapters are installed.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
The ipconfig indicates that there is a wireless adapter.

Does it detect your network? Any network? Given the location of the antenna, the distance from the router and the obstacles between antenna and router would you expect a strong signal?

Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
24
When associating with a wireless network, you have to actually connect to it (usually inputting a password etc).

If you're running windows 7, when you click the network icon in the notification area (system tray), do any wireless network show up in a list?

The ipconfig is showing you DO have a wireless adapter, so not really knowing your experience level, perhaps you don't know that you have to select a network to connect to.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
Would you do as posted in Terrynet post #6
would you post the xirrus screen shot - you will need to copy the program across onto the desktop - or move the desktop so it can be connected by cable

Also as Terrynet pointed out the ipconfig /all in your first post has a wireless adapter listed

Also as requested in post #2 by DoubleHelix
Do you see an antenna on the back to indicate it has a wireless network adapter installed?
if you could answer the questions and also post the screenshot of xirrus , that will help a lot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top