Urgent-How 2 change new user profile (fully restored) back to old user profile name ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

new2pc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2011
Messages
1
OS: Windows XP v2002 Professional SP3


1) I restored the computer system as I had lost everything stored in the old user profile.
2) A NEW USER PROFILE: 'mlinda" is created with the correct domain attached to it (eg. CAA MAU) and is fully restored.
3) The OLD USER PROFILE "m.linda" remains in the documents and settings BUT
- the domain is of a local computer (eg. SPARXX) and it no longer works with the (eg. CAA MAU) domain
4) The original "m.linda" user profile contains almost nothing in it (no documents etc)
5) m.linda is still listed in the userlist in computer management BUT NOT THE NEW mlinda
6) In administrator mode, I dont't see ALL the contents of the newly restored profile


Questions:
How do I change user profile "mlinda" (that has successfully retored everthing) back to "m.linda" since the new profile has everything intact:

1) How do I safely delete the newly restored "mlinda" and ensure everything is back to normal with the OLD USER PROFILE: m.linda?

2) How to ensure that the correct domain name is attached to the profile, by transferring all the data from THE NEW mlinda (eg. domain: CAA MAU) to THE OLD m.linda (that currently has a local computer domain: SPARXX). User profile, m.linda has to be attched to domain: CAA MAU.

3) Should I be backing up before eventhough the new mlinda is in super condition?

4) I read in forums that the links to desktop can be lost by transfering. How do I retain it?

5) Do I have to change anything in the registry value?

6) Should I do it with Administrator account in normal mode or safe mode? When I log on as an Administrator, both mlinda and m.linda is as brand new and none of the exisiting files in it.

7) When I log in as mlinda (new), I still see 'm.linda' (local computer domain) in the user list but not mlinda (the new). But when I right click properties of c:\documents and setting\ mlinda, under security, I see that mlinda is listed with the correct domain name. My biggeest fear is not to lose the domain/ ouutlook etc while changing mlinda to m.linda.



B) Rather than going through a process of copying mlinda to m.linda,

1) Is it possible just delete THE OLD USER PROFILE (m.linda) and rename the THE NEW USER PROFILE mlinda (since this is fully restored?) to m.linda?
2) If yes what are the best steps? And how can I make the adjustments to user list since when wondows starts, there is only THE NEW PROFILE mlinda popping up. I need it back to m.linda.
3) I read in a forum that I can go to registry (HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVer\ Profilelist) and change but I don't want to mess with it.
In my case in the registry i) should I delete m.linda first and rename mlinda to m.linda?

This is rather urgent and need to fix today. All your help are truly appreciated.

Thank you.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top