1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[URGENT]Setup did not find any hard disk drives" during Windows XP Installation

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Kevin12, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kevin12

    Kevin12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Recently I bought this computer.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/1-FAST-PRO-DELL...ZViewItemQQptZDesktop_PCs?hash=item3a5544460a
    I tried to install XP server pack 2 but this error came up "Setup did not find any hard disk drives" during Windows XP Installation". I am currently following this guide to resolve this issue.
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...d-disk-drives-during-windows-xp-installation/
    But I am stuck at the driver's part, I am currently on my windows 7 and don't know what driver I am suppose to upload?
     
  2. Tigi

    Tigi

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    you are meant to upload drivers from your XPISO file or whatever you called it.

    Hope this helps
    Tigi
     
  3. Kevin12

    Kevin12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    But I don't see any driver folders in my XPISO folder I created for this.
     
  4. Tigi

    Tigi

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Download the drivers you want and put them in there.

    Tigi
     
  5. Kevin12

    Kevin12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    The main issue is I don't know which driver I need to download to fix the error.


     
  6. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    See if you can change SATA mode to IDE in the Bios.
    This might help.
    Setup error
     
  7. Kevin12

    Kevin12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    My BIOs version is too old so I don't have that option.
    Also, I don't know which SATA driver I need so can someone get it for me?

     
  8. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
  9. Kevin12

    Kevin12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I don't have this option.
    My BIOS Version = A11 (11/30/06). It's too old.
     
  10. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    That model GX520 had that bios option from the day it sold. Are you sure you are looking in the right place?

    .
     
  11. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
  12. Kevin12

    Kevin12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    So this driver will fix my problem?
    Thanks a lot :)
     
  13. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    Not sure, you will just have to try it.

    Changing the bios is the correct way.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [URGENT]Setup find hard
  1. Poerboy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    549
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/892008

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice