1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Urgent "The system cannot log you on because the domain <> is not available"

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by eddysamual, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eddysamual

    eddysamual Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Dears,
    I need you r urgent help on how to overcome this problem,
    In fact I have an old laptop that I was using when I was working for my ex-employer, I kept it for my personal use (of course approved by my ex-employer): all is there my pwd, bookmarks, personal files..., never was thinking that I will face this situation.

    I always log in using an account that has the admin privilges, I was always thinking that it's a local account since it works fine, until yesterday when I received this nice message : "The system cannot log you on because the domain <XX> is not available", the <XX> is my ex-employer domain.
    I tried to log with the same user/pwd on "local computer" and it doesn't work, of course I don't have the admin pwd. Impossible to contact the IT of my ex-employer since I moved to a different country. I don't want to loose the old user profile since everything is stored there.

    I saw that there are some SW that are used as boot disks to unlock accounts, overwrite the pwd... Is this the only solution ? are they safe to use ? do you have other safer suggestions.

    Please help.
     
  2. JPCompHelp

    JPCompHelp

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    311
  3. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,667
    And of course if the hotfix doesn't solve the problem, there's nothing we can do beyond that as we can't help with passwords since we can't determine the actual situation or intent.
     
  4. eddysamual

    eddysamual Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Cookiegal,
    Thank you for your answer,
    Does this hotfix require access to the system ?
    The problem I have is that I can't access my laptop anymore, I don't have the local admin pwd since it belongs to my ex company. That's why I thought to overwrite the local admin pwd and apply the hotfix.
    Could this be a workaround ?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    That link takes me to a "request a hotfix" page, so I hope JP posts back with the specific hotfix.

    As Cookiegal noted we can not help with passwords, other than to suggest trying Safe Mode.

    We can, however, suggest ways to retrieve data.
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,667
    Have you tried booting to safe mode or safe mode with networking?
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,667
  8. JPCompHelp

    JPCompHelp

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    TerryNet, the link to the specific hotfix gets sent to your e-mail address. There is some password protection with time limitation and so posting a permanent link is useless.
     
  9. eddysamual

    eddysamual Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    With Safe Mode with Net : I receive the same error message.
    With Only Safe Mode : I receive "the system could not log you on. Make sure your User Name and domain are correct, then type password again. Letters in passwords must be typed using correct case".
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    I suggest that it's time save the data you need, format the hard drive, and install the OS fresh. Do you have an installation disk or Recovery disks or partition?
     
  11. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,447
    The only thing you can do is go back to your ex-employer, rejoin the device to the domain and copy your data.

    As the device stands right now you do not have access to the data that is on the profile which belonged to the domain user account.
     
  12. eddysamual

    eddysamual Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    My ex employer is 1000s miles a way now. But what possibly I might be able to do is to have the local admin password (I remember they customize a admin password for each station), so it could be possible.

    If I manage that, is it possible to recover from this situation?
    if so : what are the next steps to disable this domain check and just leave that account locally:is this by the hotfix you posted already?

    Thank you for your support.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    If you can get a password and login to the special Administrative account or any account with administrative privilege you can recover.

    Otherwise you'll need to do as I suggested.
     
  14. eddysamual

    eddysamual Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hi
    The question is How to recover the account (profile, desktop, stored pwd in my profile...)(The data isn't a problem for me) ?

    The scenario is : Account linked to a Domain, used to work locally but sudently stoped. Managed to have access to local Admin.
    What to do next :
    - apply the patch and will be able to login again from the "locked account" ?
    - will never be able to log to my account again
    - any other trick ?

    Thank you again guys.
     
  15. westconn1

    westconn1

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    you can not rejoin the domain once you have left without physically taking the laptop to the domain, as adminstrator you may well be able recover files and most settings
    you should create a local user account to save loggnig in as administrator every time
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/848111