1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Urgent: Toshiba satellite won't connect to internet with ethernet cable

Discussion in 'Networking' started by shortyhoward, Oct 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shortyhoward

    shortyhoward Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    i always use to use my ethernet cable to hook up to the internet. now when i plug it in, theres no connection and it doesnt even notice that the cable is plugged in. please help. im at university and the wifi is terrible
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you mean that the ethernet LED on the PC does not light? If so, probably a defective cable or NIC.
     
  3. shortyhoward

    shortyhoward Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Sadly the cord is fine, it works in my xbox and other computers. When i put the cord into my computer it doesnt automatically connect, and i cant find that there is a connection in the network sharing center
     
  4. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    Go to Control Panel, Device Manager and click on the + by Network Adapters to expand the list.
    What is listed? Is there any thing with the yellow problem indicater by it?
    Can you post a screenshot?

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_...g_a_Screenshot
     
  5. shortyhoward

    shortyhoward Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3
  6. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    The only thing that seems to have a problem is the Hotspot Shield Helper Miniport.
    Only thing I know about it is that some people have had problems with it.

    A Stack Repair might help
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog
    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reboot the machine.
    __________________

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
    Reboot the machine.



    Please run and post an IPCON /ALL

    .From a JohnWill post.
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary save as a text file and use removable media such as a USB drive to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Urgent Toshiba satellite
  1. ndennee
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    482
  2. kmtully
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    264
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1071059

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice