1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved URL Lookup Paralysis - Malware or Something Else?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Anchoret, May 21, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    I've never encountered this before, or even heard of it. Let's get a bead on what's causing this so I can make the appropriate moves...

    The symptom is very easy to describe: My trusty Win7 laptop (which I can't use to post this or sysinfo, unfortunately) works fine, but after going to several URLs loses the ability to connect to any more until I reboot the system, at which point I can look up a few pages and then experience lookup paralysis again and the browser times out trying to connect to the URL. This is the case with ALL of the URLs I try including Google, Yahoo, etc., ones that are obviously not experiencing server problems.

    This is the case with either Firefox (current update) or IE.

    Everything else seems to be 100% OK on the laptop. I don't experience this problem on other computers.

    I updated Comodo and Malwarebytes and ran the deepest, fullest scans with both, but no problems were detected. This really smells like a malware problem to me, but these programs say no.

    Can someone give me an idea where this strange problem is coming from?

    Thanks!
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,586
    First Name:
    David
    How full is the hard drive?
     
  3. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    I'll check again, but I think it's about half-empty.
     
  4. frozenoem1

    frozenoem1

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Do you have an hp laptop?
    Do you use any other browsers?
    And exactly what versions of Firefox and I.E.?
    Do you get any specific errors?
    Vague memory of driver for network adaptors, and need for a re-install.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    No. It's a Gateway NV53.
    None other than these two are installed.
    Firefox 53.0.3, the latest. Cannot upgrade IE for some reason, as Microsoft says it won't work on my machine, but I doubt this makes any difference. The problem occurs with either browser, updated or not.
    No errors. sfc /scannow shows "no violations" in the system files.
    I don't follow.

    HD has ~375G of free space. I cleaned up the registry with CCleaner. No change.

    Everything works fine otherwise. I still have an instinctive feeling this is some kind of malware that my scans aren't seeing.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2017
  6. frozenoem1

    frozenoem1

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Try to upgrade and/ or downgrade network drivers for your wifi or Ethernet.

    Is this an AMD processor or CPU?

    ** On edit - Seem to recall that HP and Gateway with AMD processors had same problem with url's dropping out. Believe the fix was mentioned here 3-4 years back.

    I almost remember a dos level command required refresh with my old POC Gateway NV 53? something, if I can find it. With a refresh of drivers.

    Forgot I.E. is no longer supported on Windows 7, admit I've been lulled back to Lenovo and Thinkpads.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2017
  7. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    OK, here's the latest...

    I've tried this with a different USB WiFi dongle and it changes nothing, so it's not the internal WiFi or its drivers. Yes, it has an AMD CPU.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
     
  9. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    This sounds easy! Will try later this evening.

    I have to say that this is one of the strangest computer problems I've ever had.
     
  10. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    OK, the above solution did nothing, but in desperation I did a rollback to a system restore point from a couple of months ago. It created a few other problems, but the one to which we're referring in this thread cleared.

    So...in a goofy way, I guess we can call this "solved."

    [LATER] Nope, after working fine last night, it's started up again.

    I'm restoring it to an earlier restore point from March and will see what happens.

    [Sigh!]
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2017
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    What security suite (or other anti-malware program) is, or ever was, on the system?
     
  12. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Comodo, very laboriously removed and reinstalled. Going to previous restore points really screwed that up, too.

    Nothing (0) has changed with the problem.

    I've never seen anything like this before.

    I've never HEARD of anything like this before.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
  14. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    This is such an incredibly strange problem, I am not sure where to put this, but let's try here to start. If it needs to be moved, the mods can feel free to do so.

    An earlier attempt to diagnose this petered out into nothing and was closed. See thread here and check to see if your suggestions have already been tried without success.

    [SysInfo at end]

    I got back on it tonight and got a little more information (which only makes the problem more mysterious, not less), but the problem remains... OK, here goes:

    My laptop seems to be working perfectly. I connect to the Internet and a page or two load properly.

    At this point, I notice a decelerating slowdown in further pageloads until page loading completely stops or is reduced to dialup-level speeds.

    Other computer functions seem to work fine. I just can't load any more pages until I reboot...then the process begins exactly the same way.

    * This happens with any browser
    * This happens with internal WiFi, external WiFi or cable LAN connection
    * Other computers on my home system show no problem
    * Previous suggestions (see linked thread, above) made no apparent difference
    * Thorough scans with Comodo and MalwareBytes show the system clean
    * Restoring the system to a previous restore point made no difference
    * This problem still exists on other Internet accounts, like at the library

    Now, here's the REALLY strange new discovery I made tonight. Try to stay with me on this one:

    I got online via LAN connection and tried a few sites before the web locked up on me. One of the sites was the Ookla speed test site, which ground to a halt before the test could be run. However, it was the most recent site in the "History" cue, so after I rebooted, I went into Firefox and brought that page up from the History menu as the first site. As the first site on a new boot, it loaded and I could run the speed test.

    The down/up speeds were exactly what they were supposed to be, a little better than 15M down and 1.5 M up.

    OK, so I keep the test page on the first browser tab and open a new tab to do further browsing. As expected, the subsequent sites eventually ground to a total halt, or very nearly.

    BUT...when I switched back to the first tab that had the speed test page loaded I clicked on the "New Test" button to see what had happened and discovered that the throughput was still testing perfect, even with webpage loading virtually paralyzed! I retried it several times with the same results. Throughput is fine!

    What?

    Can someone PLEASE tell me how to fix this weirdness?

    Many thanks for any remedy.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II Dual-Core M300, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3838 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD M880G with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 , 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 464837 MB, Free - 357879 MB;
    Motherboard: Gateway, SJV50TR , Rev, LXWGH02036949BAE6E2200
    Antivirus: COMODO Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
     
  15. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    re-opened old topic & merged the 2 together
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1190314

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice