USB 2.0 into 1.0

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bloodyskullz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
480
Currently I am using an old computer and it has 1.0 USB but I need to plug in a 2.0 and get it to run at the speed I want it to. It's not working or popping up a window for the drive enclosure to access. I have stuff on there that I want to use. Is there a cable that is one end 1.0 and the other end 2.0 or something like that? It's an OLD IBM computer. about 8 years old if not close to that.

Help anyone?
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,779
A USB 2.0 device should work at USB 1.0 speeds when plugged into a USB 1.0 port. As far as I know, the USB 2.0 standard is backwards compatible with USB 1.0.

Are you running Windows or some other OS?
 

Bloodyskullz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
480
I can't seem to get the windows to pop open. It doesn't even show it can be safely removed. I am doing this on Windows XP. Does the hardware matter by chance? If it's too slow?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
What is it you are plugging in? Does the device show in Device Manager? Are there any errors in Device Manager?
 

Bloodyskullz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
480
I am trying to plug in my hard drive (note book one in a drive enclosure) In device manager i can only see a question mark (yellow) over the modem. I am sure it shouldn't have an effect.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
While 2.0 should be backwards compatible, the old slot may not provide enough voltage off the bus you need.You need to find a usb 2.0 pci slot that will fit your case.
 

Bloodyskullz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
480
My cable has a double conenction so i can receive extra power. is there any chance that theres a cable that could work? What if I used the USB PCI slot that came with anotehr computer. If I had left the case open and slapped it in and conencted it to the usb conenctors on the Motherboard, could that work? Or does it have to support that version in order for it to work?
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
You need USB 2.0 ports. There's no workaround, hack, or other part that will work.
 

bearone2

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,809
fwiw:
i have several 2.0 usb mem sticks and one is a wireless adapter.

i get a message that something hispeed is in a slower usb port but everything works, just use what you have.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
20
Go to ubid.com cables4pc.com or even ebay.com and punch in the search box USB 2.0 pci card and you should be able to get one for $10-20 or less. I happen to have gotten lucky and had mine pulled out of the local computer repair shop parts bin for $5 and it works fine.
 

Bloodyskullz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
480
So the connections for the board will not matter? it connects to the boards like how the usb's on the front side of the computer are connected. The compability should be the same right? The computer I will be using the PCI USB thing a majig is a bout 1 year old now give to take.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top