1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

USB Adaptor issue with Windows 98SE

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mbotoole, Apr 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mbotoole

    mbotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Hi all, several months ago I bought a Linksys USB adaptor for my wireless network. At the time, my PC was running Windows 98, and it installed without a problem and was working fine. A couple of months ago, I had to upgrade my OS to Windows 98SE. The USB adaptor was still working fine. A few days ago we started having troubles with our network. Even though it turned out to be a problem with the router, I tried to reinstall the adaptor on my computer. Bad idea, now it won't work. It installs the WLAN Monitor software OK, and when I reboot the machine as prompted it does detect the new hardware. However, after a few files get installed it prompted me saying it cannot find the locproxy.exe and locprxy2.exe files, but I was able to locate them online and get them installed.

    But still, in the device manager, there is an exclamation mark next to the device. I installed it using the latest driver off of Linksys's website, and their tech support was not much help, so i'm pretty much at a loss here. Greatly appreciate all help. Thanks!
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    remove client for m/s networks
    install the driver
    then reinstall the client
     
  3. mbotoole

    mbotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    So just remove it in the Network section of Control Panel? And once I do reintall the drivers for the adaptor, how do I reinstall the client for M/S networks?
     
  4. mbotoole

    mbotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Just checking, but would it really be necessary to reintall tthe client for microsoft networks if my internal ethernet card is working? I can get on the Internet with the cable, but it's kind of annoying have a 50 foot cable running through my house!!
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    uninstall from the tc/ip box
    when finished go back and tick the box and install and windows will reinstall
    it is needed
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/224279

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice