USB Drives- "Scan and Fix" error and SD Card drive doesn't work.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jgtdec29

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
4
Whenever I plug in my USB device it wants to "scan and fix" but works if I just continue. On the other hand the G drive which is for my SD card gives me errors of corruption even before I took it out for the first time. Something is up with the drives and they are updated and all that. Also, with the SD card it doesn't let me delete and when I do add it is just the folder without the contents which then I can't delete. Help me fix this problem. I have a LX series Gateway computer with the pop up drive if that gives you any idea what I am dealing with.

PS: Should have bought a Mac.
 

jgtdec29

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
4
Ok, I tried running setup and looked like it worked and then I tried to open up Vista 64 tried to open uminst and nothing happened. Can you help out on this because I tried and got this program before but this one worked and really want to fix this error. Is there any way I can uninstall and reinstall a driver for a SDHC slot but yet do it without a disc or program on me?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Are you always using "Safely Remove" before taking those drives offline? If not, they sustain file system damage each time if caching is enabled.
 

jgtdec29

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
4
In the past I usually eject or safely remove but this drive wasn't even used and gave me trouble. Is it in a system as a whole that gets hurt by not doing so because my wireless card sometimes didn't show up and had to pull out and put back in. That works every time without any hassle though. If so, can I find any solutions to helping it get back what may have been damaged? Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
2,637
hya mate,in device manager you can uninstall the devices you want by right-click on them and uninstall,once uninstalled reboot your machine and they will automatically be reinstalled.
 

jgtdec29

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
4
Will this help me or is it kind of try and it see approach? Also, reboot the whole system from scratch? Because the kind people of Gateway gave me very little when I purchased this and stupidly thinking it wouldn't have any problems, it has been the opposite. I don't even know if or where I have the disks. Thanks for the help and keep providing the answers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top