USB External Device Nightmare

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

macdickerson

Hello,
I am a college student and I record all of my lectures (which are very necessary to me passing) on a Sony IC Recorder ICD-UX560. I have a 2017 MacBook Air (OS Sierra: 10.12.6) and one of my USB ports doesn't work. Well, I decided that this evening of all times (right before midterms) to try and insert my recorder into that plug. It connected and disconnected continuously for about 5 seconds, the "do not remove until device is ejected properly" message was shown and hidden an equal number of times. The brilliant individual that I am, decided to "fix" the issue by trying to straighten out the seemingly bent connectors inside the physical port with my pocket knife. As anyone who thinks would guess (cause ya know, electrons and their love of conductivity), I got sparks and a USB devices disabled message on my screen. I continued to try and plug my device in; over... and over... but to know avail (because of this I am insane by Einstein's standards). After this I gave up on the failed port, enabled USB devices, and returned to the perfectly fine USB port that I should have used all along. Alarmingly, my device didn't show up on my desktop(a major problem as I have the last 4.5 weeks of lectures stored on its internal hard drive). So, I scoured the internet to try and find a solution, tried a few and heres the situation I have at hand: