USB flatbed scanner not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cleopatra

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
4
please help! my scanner has stopped working,the message reads,1/check power is on(it is)
2/check usb cable is connected properly(it is)
3/usb setting is enable in bios(HOW?)
THANKS.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi cleopatra, welcome to TSG....

To access your bios setup, when the computer is starting you must figure out what key to press.....most times it's the DEL key, Compaqs F 10, some others F 1 or F 2.....if you can't figure which one, then post information on your computer.

Once in the bios, you'll look for something similar to USB support disabled....you'll change it to enabled, save changes and exit.
 

cleopatra

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
4
thanks for BIOS info but scanner is still not working i have bought a new scanner and installed the software and that is not working either.
any more ideas would be appreciated.
thanks.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Check in the control panel, system, device manager....any yellow exclamation marks on anything? Is anything else using the same IRQ as the USB controller?

Maybe post your IRQs....start button, run, then type msinfo32 and press ok...go to hardware resources, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
 

cleopatra

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
4
0 System timer
1 PC/AT Enhanced Keyboard (101/102-Key)
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 (free)
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 EPSON Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 3dfx Voodoo3
9 Intel(R) 810 Chipset Graphics Driver PV 2.1
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
10 Intel 82801AA USB Universal Host Controller
10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
11 HSP MicroModem 56
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
12 Microsoft PS/2 Port Mouse
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 Intel 82801AA Bus Master IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 Intel 82801AA Bus Master IDE Controller
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Well, that looks fine....

In the device manager, is the scanner showing up under imaging device?

What you might try doing is to delete it, unplug it, start the computer without it, then plug it back in, allow the computer to find it again.

Have you tried re-installing the software for it yet?
 

cleopatra

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
4
hi,
the scanner is not showing up under imageing device.
ihave tried reinstalling the software on both the old and new scanners.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
You might have some corrupted TWAIN files. Nobody seems to know what TWAIN stands for so it is common to translate it as Technology Without An Interesting Name. What it does is form a standard computer interface with imaging devices like scanners and digital cameras. Your scanner software will install TWAIN files if they are not there, but will not overwrite them. An uninstall of the scanner software doesn’t remove the TWAIN files.

Uninstall all of your scanner drivers.
Start>Find>Files and folders (C) do a search for “twain” without the quotes. There should be several still in the Windows folder – delete all of them.
Do a search for your scanner and driver – like Microtek and ScanWizard or Umax and VistaScan. Delete any scanner files you find.
Umax wants you to empty the recycle bin.
Reinstall the scanner driver software and it should work.

Several scanner makers want you to do the same for TWUNK that you did with TWAIN if the first one doesn’t work. I’ve never had to do the TWUNK.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top