1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

USB Hub question?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bonecrusher123, Jul 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bonecrusher123

Bonecrusher123 Thread Starter

hey guys, i bought a 4 port USB hub that isn't powered. i've never used one before. these are my questions:

- by plugging my mouse into the hub, would the 'reaction speed' change at all? would it be better to plug the mouse (as it's the most important device) directly into a USB port?
    - could an external portable HDD (one that's not plugged into a wall) work? or would it need power? would it be able to charge a small mp3 player battery? i'm not worried about how speed will be effected, just if the devices will work or not. the salesguy said they'd work, but a printer would not.
    - is there anything else i need to consider as far as limitations of USB hubs go?
    - i had some other questions, but cant recall them.

thanks

2. Fractalogic

Fractalogic

Hi there!

1. Since a USB hub is a passive component, there should be no difference.

Yes, an external HDD that normally is not plugged to the mains will still work when connected to a USB hub, just as if it was connected to the USB port directly.

3. Yes, it will be able to charge Mp3 players that are designed to be charged via the USB port, just as if it was connected to the USB port directly.