1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

USB NIC shuts down when I play World of Warcraft

Discussion in 'Networking' started by grester, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    My problem has me seriously stumped. If you can figure out what is wrong you're a certified genius.


    Specs: Abit kn9-SLI, AMD 4200x2, BFG 8800 GTS, XP SP2
    Card: D-Link DWL-G122 b1 Wireless-G USB Card AND d-link 120+ (same problem with both cards)
    ROUTER: Standard linksys wireless B/G too lazy to get model number cause I know it doesn't matter...
    MB Chipset: nForce 570 w/SLI
    Firewall: None, all port forwarding updated.
    Other USB devices: MS corded keyboard and mouse (not wireless)
    Drivers: I've updated and uninstalled and reinstalled every driver related to networking.. all other drivers including nForce, video, etc are up to date.

    PROBLEM: My USB wireless card (D-link DWL-G1222 b1 with RT2500) loses power (lights go off) and I lose all connectivity at random times when I play WoW. For some reason I can't understand, this only happens when I play World of Warcraft. Windows still shows the wireless network connection has connected and with good signal strength but there is no dava transfering and the lights on the device are off. The normal way to get the card to reconnect without restarting is to "stop" the device using the "safely remove hardware" option and then to reconnect it. This method, however, sometimes doesn't work and I'm forced to restart and plug it into different USB ports. I'm desperate here, any advise would be helpful. I've updated every possible driver I could think of and still nothing. The exact same problem occurs when I use my back-up d-link 120+

    Unfortunately, a cable at this time is not feasible so I'm stuck with wireless.
     
  2. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Check the properties for the device itself, and make sure it is in "CAM" mode (Constantly Awake Mode).
     
  3. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    That did not work. Problem occurs with or without CAM... which seems only to be an issue on laptops anyway.

    Additional Info: I've noticed that the adapter will now instantly shut down as soon as I load the game. Even before I try logging on it will have shut down.
     
  4. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy folks...

    grester...

    Have you looked in Event Viewer for any clues as to why it is shutting down?

    It actually sounds like more of a hardware issue with the USB ports...

    JMO...
     
  5. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Yeah since it happens on both adapters I agree its something wrong with the USB controller, at least thats my suspicion. I haven't used the event viewer before but I'll give it a shot and post the results. Thanks for the reply.
     
  6. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Event viewer showed nothing.
     
  7. techy689

    techy689

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Well how much memory is on your computer? Also, since your router is G, if you go online a lot, why not get a g adapter?
     
  8. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Don't know...

    Might try looking in Device Manager, and look at each of the USB Root hubs, under the power management tab and make sure it is not set to allow the computer to turn it off...

    Also while your in there monitor the Bandwith, and power being used by the USB port it is plugged into...

    Also may want to run msinfo32, and see if there are any conflicts/sharing issues with the IRQ's ( I know a long shot, but something is shutting it down)...

    Also just throwing this out there, have you check on the WoW site to see if there are any patches for the game?
     
  9. techy689

    techy689

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Wait.. you said this was a nic in b mode? also... try going to control panel > power options > and changing the theme to home/office
     
  10. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    No, it's in G mode. The model version is b1 which just means it has the RT2500 chipset and not whatever chip a1 and a2 have.
     
  11. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    WoW patches automatically and so far the techs on their forums are stumped too. I'll check the device manager stuff now.

    UPDATE: Sys info says all hardware IRQ's are "OK"
     
  12. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Didn't know that, I'm not into pc games anymore (last ones I played were Castle Wolfenstein, Doom, and Duke Nukem ;) )...

    Since it looks like it only happens in WoW (correct?), Has it always happened, or did it just start?

    Also if we can't resolve the issue here may want to notify a mod, and have them move it to the Games section, because it could be very well a game issue too...

    Also can you click on Start - run type in msinfo32 and expand Hardware resources - select IRQ's - click on Edit - Select all - Copy, and paste the IRQ listing here?
     
  13. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Ok I changed the power settings on my USB root hubs to not allow it to turn off devices... so far so good. If it keeps working I'll let ya know and you get big star sticker if you're right.
     
  14. gibou

    gibou

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    USB power management set to always on did not work for me. Other suggestions?

    Grester, did you find a solution?
     
  15. grester

    grester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    No, I had a defective motherboard.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536128

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice