USB Port for MS Optical Mouse

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JohnnyGold

Thread Starter
Joined
May 29, 1999
Messages
83
I've got a Compaq Athlon 500 with four USB ports. Only one of them is being used. I have used the "restore" disk and except for the periphrials, the machine is out of the box new. I haven't installed the drivers for the other periprials.

When I plug the transmitter for the mouse into a USB port, the computer won't boot. It hangs on the "Compaq" screen and won't go any farther. I'm not sure how far into loading that is.

Don I need to remove the old serial mouse, first? Do I need to take this thing back? Thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Try plugging it in after the computer is almost to the desktop.
 

JohnnyGold

Thread Starter
Joined
May 29, 1999
Messages
83
I tried to plug the transmitter into the port after the boot up starts. That still doesn't work.
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Try changing "USB Legacy" support in your bios to enabled. (it is probably at auto... which disables if nothing is in at start up) then try what candy said again... but wait until windows is completely loaded and you can do stuff. (if only you have a mouse :)) USB is hot-swappable so you can plug and unplug any time you want.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
What is the model# of your Compaq PC?. Without knowing, see if <a href=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;Q257406> this</a> helps. I looks like you may need to temporily use the PS2 adapter on the first boot with the new mouse and then plug it into the USB port.

Let us know what happens.
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Sorry, this is a little OT... but Bryan I never really run into you very much in threads... have you considered having one of us animate that avatar of yours? It looks cool, but I think animating that jockey a bit would be an interesting touch. (also... is it alright to stray for one post or should the help boards be kept to help?) Sorry to interrupt Johnny.
 

JohnnyGold

Thread Starter
Joined
May 29, 1999
Messages
83
Thanks for the support, guys. But, I took the thing back to the store. I think that I'll try the Logitech.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top